Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I have never had persimmons until a friend who had a tree brought me some. I had no idea what to do with it. I froze the pulp so I could investigate on what to do with this strange orange stuff! This bread is fantastic! It is super moist and tasty. The spices are just right. Only had one problem and that was getting out out of the bread loaf pans. Doesn't matter if it's glass or metal pan. I will try greasing them better next time and maybe even add a touch of flour to the bottom of the pan. Regardless of a few pock marks on the bottom of my loaves, it is DELICIOUS! ADDENDUM: I solved the sticking on bottom of pan problem with parchment paper! It worked great and I use it in glass, metal, or even the throw away foil pans. I bring it up on the sides a touch, too. The bread still browns nicely! (If you use the fuyu persimmons, the stickiness is not a problem - I learned that this year 2014.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCLANCY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Hands down, best spice bread for the holidays. My husband and my father-in-law are not sweettooths and both do not like persimmon. However, my husband swears this is the only dessert bread he will eat and the first time I made this for my father-in-law, he kept pushing persimmons from his tree on me. My mother-in-law said she could eat a whole loaf on her own, and every time I've brought this bread over for a holiday gathering, it disappears. With that said, here are a few cooking suggestions: instead of 3 cups white sugar I add 2.5 cups of brown sugar and instead of regular oil I add olive oil (healthier and brings out the spice). I love spices in my bread (everyone is different) so I add more nutmeg and cinnamon to taste. I also add ground cloves (I dont' know how much, I eye it and add to taste). Alternatively, you can add pumpkin spice. For a moister bread, add a bit more persimmon pulp. To prevent bread from sticking, I find it best to purchase those disposable aluminum foil pans and spray those with PAM cooking spray. I NEVER get sticking and this also prevents overcooking of the "crust." Additionally, there's no pan clean up required. This recipe is extremely easy to make and is incredibly forgiving (can make a few subsitutions or mistakes and it still turns out decent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
After losing an older family recipie, I came here to hunt for a close variation. This recipie is even better, enjoyed by family and co-workers and is a definite hit with my year-old nephew. The bread is moist, delicious, and keeps for three or four days so it makes a wonderful gift idea. I have not tried freezing the bread so I can't say the flavor will change after defrosting. Another note- with only one bread pan, I baked the remainder of the batter in a springform cake pan with cooking parchment on the bottom. The bread came out wonderfully, and has the potential for all sorts of presentation ideas such as a multi-layered holiday cake, or a component in a trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is a good recipe and like all good recipes takes personalization well. As advised from other reviews I used 21/2cups of brown sugar (3 cups of white seemed like too much).I add 1/2tsp of ground cloves and 1/4tsp of ground ginger. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of persimmon and left out the water. Used 6 small loaf pans sprayed with Pam w/Flour and they came out great. A friend thought butterscotch chips in it would be good I was thinking cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This bread is great! Iàm in Italy right now and persimmons (cachi or kaki) are in season right now and they are the best things EVER so I thought I would see what I could make with them! I found this recipe and have made it several times now. The only thing I change is the amount of sugar. 3 cups seemed like WAY too much cuz persimmons are so sweet to begin with! (You have to wait until they are almost rotten to eat them...that's when they are so sweet and juicy and delicious! yum!). Iàm guessing all the sugar was for if you use persimmons when they are not yet ripe...then I think they are quite bitter. But trust me...wait until they are cracking and ready to fall out of their skin. They are SO GOOD!!!! Thanks! (PS. I made this in a ciambellone pan...maybe the same as a bundt cake pan? instead of the smaller loaf pans. Great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnooziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
THe taste is good, very similar to pumpkin bread. The problem is that its very stick and difficult to remove from pan. I'm thinking to try without adding additional water as the persimmons already have a high enough content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Everyone loves it, just as long as you don't admit persimmons are in it. I wish it used more persimmons so I could use up our harvest quicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
This bread is so moist and flavorful! My husband and I can't stop eating it. I baked some of the batter in mini muffin tins and it worked great - easy to pop in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Made this recipe many times. Tweak the ingredients - reduced sugar to 2 C brn sugar, increase persimmon to 1 1/2 cup & eliminated the water, added spices suggested by other reviewers i.e., 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp ginger (if I had these) & 1/2 cloves. Kept moist for several days. Not to sweet or mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I was reading some of your comments and saw that some of you had "almost" ripe persimmons. Persimmons will immediately ripen after the first frost. To simulate that first frost put the persimmons you want to use in the freezer over night. Defrost at room temperature and they are ripe and ready to use. Thank you for all your positive feed back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States