Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is very delish recipe. I use Pecan instead of Walnut..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina4man

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
While cleaning my Mom's freezer, I found some frozen persimmon pulp. I have never baked persimmon anything so thought I would try this bread recipe. I got the jitters after reading all the tweaking reviews but ended up tweaking my own since I frequently bake banana bread. I used 2 cups persimmon pulp and 1 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup of oil, 1 tsp vanilla, 2 1/2 cups sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I didn't want to add the water since there is water already in the fruits. The bread turned out dense, moist and great flavor. My recipe made 4 medium sized loaves to which I added a variety walnuts and raisins (left one plain) I cut the temp bake to 325 and cut the baking time too because of the smaller loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La_ura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Really tasty, but with 3 cups of sugar, it's super rich. The sugar carmalizes and makes it look really dark and delicious. I added raisins as well. Great desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Wonderful recipe and great persimmon bread. I noticed however that it indicated (3) loaves in a 6" by 3" loaf pan. I found that it was enough for (5) mini pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
It is delicious. Easy and a nice gift when visiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have them in the oven as I write this, I have a persimmon tree and she produces more then enough for just jams and jellies... This will be my first bread...looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Super yummy and oh, so sticky! My family loved it before I baked it. Thanks for the holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Awesome! I added twice the pulp and used 2 cups of organic sugar and ground cloves. I also substituted apple sauce for oil. put icing on top after baking when bread is still hot. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanna cala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Moist and delicious! I had a friend pawn off some persimmons on me(I don't really care for them) so I found this recipe and I found that after baking it the persimmon flavor wasn't really there, wich is kind of bad I guess for persimmon lovers, but great for me. I added some raisins and I made a powdered sugar glaze for the top but other than that I followed the recipe. It made a lot so I brought some to work, everyone loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I did a half-batch per the ingredients listed, and did 6 muffins instead of a loaf. I used egg whites instead of full eggs, unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil, Splenda white sugar in place of regular white sugar, and doubled the nutmeg. Instead of all purpose flour, I used whole wheat bread flour. I baked the muffins for approximately 45 minutes at 350F, and they turned out exceptionally well. Very tasty! Although I made a few changes to produce a low fat recipe out of the original, I still maintain this recipe at 5 stars. Excellent, and thank you for 'introducing' me to the world of persimmons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States