Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This bread is delicious! Perfect for a brisk fall morning. I did make some adjustments to the recipe. First of all I cut it in half because it seemed like a lot. I was glad I did this because I still ended up with two normal sized loafs. Also, I added 1/4 teaspoon of ginger powder and 1 tsp of vanilla. I substituted almonds for walnuts and added 1/2 cup of chopped up prunes. I will definitely make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Am I the only one here to notice that the instructions said to bake in three 6X3 loaf pans? After filling four 6X3 pans and still having batter left, I should have realized this was very wrong and baked in 3 regular size loaf pans. This was a fiasco....it cooked out of the pans and spilled into the oven...what a mess. I pride myself on being a good cook and have gone over this several times and I did follow instructions exactly. I notice others have chosen to use bundt pans... maybe this would have worked better. More than half of this had to be thrown away, although what little I saved had a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Fabulous!! I made this several times using both common types of persimmon (The Japanese type made better pulp although both tasted great). This is easy to make and incredibly tasty. I made this as Christmas presents and everyone who received it asked for the recipe. Nuff said! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Very good and rises nicely. I made it in a bundt pan and a large loaf pan and gave the loaf to a friend ... We all loved it. I also added half raisins and half walnuts... Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Sawler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This bread turned out really well. I used wheat flour instead of white, substituted raisins instead of walnuts and also added cloves & allspice. My co-workers loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Very moist and it is a great recipe for the holidays. I've used both types of common persimmons with the recipe and they both work well. I've also added raisins, used pecans or almonds successfully with this recipe. For those low carb fans, I have split the flour with almond meal that I bought from Trader Joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Delicious, but watch carefully at end of baking, since bread is so dark it is easy to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I wasn't to impressed with this recipe. I thought that for being Persimmon bread it should have tasted like it had persimmons in it. I though that it needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
this is some good stuff :). taste's kinda like pumpkin bread to me. tastes absolutely best fresh out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This bread is great! Iàm in Italy right now and persimmons (cachi or kaki) are in season right now and they are the best things EVER so I thought I would see what I could make with them! I found this recipe and have made it several times now. The only thing I change is the amount of sugar. 3 cups seemed like WAY too much cuz persimmons are so sweet to begin with! (You have to wait until they are almost rotten to eat them...that's when they are so sweet and juicy and delicious! yum!). Iàm guessing all the sugar was for if you use persimmons when they are not yet ripe...then I think they are quite bitter. But trust me...wait until they are cracking and ready to fall out of their skin. They are SO GOOD!!!! Thanks! (PS. I made this in a ciambellone pan...maybe the same as a bundt cake pan? instead of the smaller loaf pans. Great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnooziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States