Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ken
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I liked this bread. It was moist and sweet but, not too sweet. My neighbor gave me some fresh Fuyu persimmons and I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com. I made this bread twice and each time I made a few changes (e.g. using some brown sugar instead of white, and added cranberries). Each time I baked this bread it produced 3 loaves. It was perfect for breakfast and everyone who tried it really loved it. I've added this to my recipe box and will definitely make it again in the future. One suggestion: chop the pulp a little more course. My first batch I had a sauce-like texture for the persimmon pulp (almost like apple sauce). It tasted fine but, the added texture in the second batch really made the bread much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Thought this was a fantastic bread! I really loved the sugar crisp crust. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I did not like it too sweet and dry my husband tried it he said no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
It was great, but need to test for doneness before the hour. Also added a lemon glaze, which added a zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is such a yummy bread. I made persimmon jam which I will substitute for the persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Followed recipe to a T except I substituted 1 cup white flour for 1 cup whole wheat flour. Delicious! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this bread and it turned out so good. I did use one extra persimmon and fresh nutmeg. That is what made it so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Pretty good recipe. The only change I made was butter for the oil. I am looking forward to trying the other variations in the reviews. I'd definitely like to try doubling the persimmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Eh. I think I just didn't like the persimmon flavor much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I had enough pulp to do 3 batches of this bread. I made all 3 into muffins. If you do that, make sure you remember to cut down the baking time. (I almost burned my 1st batch.) All 3 batches I did cut the sugar as suggested by others. I did 1-1/2 cups. I think 2 cups would be a bit better. I also replaced the oil with apple sauce in all of them. The first batch I then did the rest as written. The next batch, I followed the suggestions to increase pulp to 1-1/2cups and delete the water. Tasting both batches together, we could taste a slightly higher persimmon flavor in the 2nd batch. The 3rd batch I kept the increased pulp and added extra seasonings as suggested by other reviews. We did not notice a difference. These were great muffins, no matter which variation we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States