Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
After losing an older family recipie, I came here to hunt for a close variation. This recipie is even better, enjoyed by family and co-workers and is a definite hit with my year-old nephew. The bread is moist, delicious, and keeps for three or four days so it makes a wonderful gift idea. I have not tried freezing the bread so I can't say the flavor will change after defrosting. Another note- with only one bread pan, I baked the remainder of the batter in a springform cake pan with cooking parchment on the bottom. The bread came out wonderfully, and has the potential for all sorts of presentation ideas such as a multi-layered holiday cake, or a component in a trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
The family loved it! And it disappeared so quickly that I was making it twice a week till the persimmons ran out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
This bread is so moist and flavorful! My husband and I can't stop eating it. I baked some of the batter in mini muffin tins and it worked great - easy to pop in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
THe taste is good, very similar to pumpkin bread. The problem is that its very stick and difficult to remove from pan. I'm thinking to try without adding additional water as the persimmons already have a high enough content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Everyone loves it, just as long as you don't admit persimmons are in it. I wish it used more persimmons so I could use up our harvest quicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Excellent recipe to use for people who don't think they like persimmons! GardeningJan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I have never had persimmons until a friend who had a tree brought me some. I had no idea what to do with it. I froze the pulp so I could investigate on what to do with this strange orange stuff! This bread is fantastic! It is super moist and tasty. The spices are just right. Only had one problem and that was getting out out of the bread loaf pans. Doesn't matter if it's glass or metal pan. I will try greasing them better next time and maybe even add a touch of flour to the bottom of the pan. Regardless of a few pock marks on the bottom of my loaves, it is DELICIOUS! ADDENDUM: I solved the sticking on bottom of pan problem with parchment paper! It worked great and I use it in glass, metal, or even the throw away foil pans. I bring it up on the sides a touch, too. The bread still browns nicely! (If you use the fuyu persimmons, the stickiness is not a problem - I learned that this year 2014.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCLANCY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
used this recipe several times...for mini loaves, I was about to make about 6-7 loaves and given away as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Very yummy! I had to make more for work, they loved it so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This bread is great! Iàm in Italy right now and persimmons (cachi or kaki) are in season right now and they are the best things EVER so I thought I would see what I could make with them! I found this recipe and have made it several times now. The only thing I change is the amount of sugar. 3 cups seemed like WAY too much cuz persimmons are so sweet to begin with! (You have to wait until they are almost rotten to eat them...that's when they are so sweet and juicy and delicious! yum!). Iàm guessing all the sugar was for if you use persimmons when they are not yet ripe...then I think they are quite bitter. But trust me...wait until they are cracking and ready to fall out of their skin. They are SO GOOD!!!! Thanks! (PS. I made this in a ciambellone pan...maybe the same as a bundt cake pan? instead of the smaller loaf pans. Great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnooziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States