Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
The bread turned out very moist, which was good, but I would likely reduce the amount of oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasperbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I double the persimmons and deleted the water. Bread came out great! Big hit with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I used 2 1/2 c. of brown sugar, added almond extract, increased the persimmon pulp and decreased the water. Was yummy. Made 12 muffins, and 3 mini loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
The first time I made it, I doubled the recipe and it didn't quite turn out. The second time, I followed the recipe with a few changes...I added cranberries, used applesauce for 1/2 the oil and also substituted brown sugar for some of the granulated sugar. I came out super super moist. I sliced up a loaf to bring to work (before I end up eating the whole thing myself) My kids like it and asked for more. Tonight, I'm making another batch, without the nuts (for those who are allergic or don't care for nuts) and substituted applesauce for all of the oil...we'll see how this batch turns out! I'll be sticking them in the freezer and bring them back out for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurenski
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe is exactly why I love this website. I had a client bring in some homegrown persimmons and I thought, what the heck do I do with these? To Allrecipes! I made this bread and brought it work. What a hit! I had several ask for the recipe (and several others ask what a persimmon was.) This bread has a really nice flavor and is very moist. I took the reviewers advice and used 2 1/2 cups of brown sugar and added some pumpkin spice. I made a bundt & still had batter left over (not quite a loaf pan.) Will make muffins next time with the leftovers. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was a very easy recipe to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is a good recipe and like all good recipes takes personalization well. As advised from other reviews I used 21/2cups of brown sugar (3 cups of white seemed like too much).I add 1/2tsp of ground cloves and 1/4tsp of ground ginger. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of persimmon and left out the water. Used 6 small loaf pans sprayed with Pam w/Flour and they came out great. A friend thought butterscotch chips in it would be good I was thinking cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Hands down, best spice bread for the holidays. My husband and my father-in-law are not sweettooths and both do not like persimmon. However, my husband swears this is the only dessert bread he will eat and the first time I made this for my father-in-law, he kept pushing persimmons from his tree on me. My mother-in-law said she could eat a whole loaf on her own, and every time I've brought this bread over for a holiday gathering, it disappears. With that said, here are a few cooking suggestions: instead of 3 cups white sugar I add 2.5 cups of brown sugar and instead of regular oil I add olive oil (healthier and brings out the spice). I love spices in my bread (everyone is different) so I add more nutmeg and cinnamon to taste. I also add ground cloves (I dont' know how much, I eye it and add to taste). Alternatively, you can add pumpkin spice. For a moister bread, add a bit more persimmon pulp. To prevent bread from sticking, I find it best to purchase those disposable aluminum foil pans and spray those with PAM cooking spray. I NEVER get sticking and this also prevents overcooking of the "crust." Additionally, there's no pan clean up required. This recipe is extremely easy to make and is incredibly forgiving (can make a few subsitutions or mistakes and it still turns out decent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
It didn't fit into my three 3x6 pans either, so I made cupcakes with the rest of the batter. And as I expected when adding *three cups of sugar* I found it way too sweet. But that is if you are expecting bread. It might make a nice cake though. You can't really taste the persimmon, but I believe it adds moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I halved the recipe, and got one normal-sized loaf. Had a great flavor, but it was so moist that it deflated immediately when I took it out of the oven, and stuck to the pan in the middle. 2nd time I left out the water. Didn't stick, but deflated IN the oven. Tastes great, just isn't pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States