Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
It didn't fit into my three 3x6 pans either, so I made cupcakes with the rest of the batter. And as I expected when adding *three cups of sugar* I found it way too sweet. But that is if you are expecting bread. It might make a nice cake though. You can't really taste the persimmon, but I believe it adds moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I halved the recipe, and got one normal-sized loaf. Had a great flavor, but it was so moist that it deflated immediately when I took it out of the oven, and stuck to the pan in the middle. 2nd time I left out the water. Didn't stick, but deflated IN the oven. Tastes great, just isn't pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This bread is delicious! Perfect for a brisk fall morning. I did make some adjustments to the recipe. First of all I cut it in half because it seemed like a lot. I was glad I did this because I still ended up with two normal sized loafs. Also, I added 1/4 teaspoon of ginger powder and 1 tsp of vanilla. I substituted almonds for walnuts and added 1/2 cup of chopped up prunes. I will definitely make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Am I the only one here to notice that the instructions said to bake in three 6X3 loaf pans? After filling four 6X3 pans and still having batter left, I should have realized this was very wrong and baked in 3 regular size loaf pans. This was a fiasco....it cooked out of the pans and spilled into the oven...what a mess. I pride myself on being a good cook and have gone over this several times and I did follow instructions exactly. I notice others have chosen to use bundt pans... maybe this would have worked better. More than half of this had to be thrown away, although what little I saved had a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Fabulous!! I made this several times using both common types of persimmon (The Japanese type made better pulp although both tasted great). This is easy to make and incredibly tasty. I made this as Christmas presents and everyone who received it asked for the recipe. Nuff said! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Very good and rises nicely. I made it in a bundt pan and a large loaf pan and gave the loaf to a friend ... We all loved it. I also added half raisins and half walnuts... Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Sawler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This bread turned out really well. I used wheat flour instead of white, substituted raisins instead of walnuts and also added cloves & allspice. My co-workers loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Very moist and it is a great recipe for the holidays. I've used both types of common persimmons with the recipe and they both work well. I've also added raisins, used pecans or almonds successfully with this recipe. For those low carb fans, I have split the flour with almond meal that I bought from Trader Joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Delicious, but watch carefully at end of baking, since bread is so dark it is easy to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I wasn't to impressed with this recipe. I thought that for being Persimmon bread it should have tasted like it had persimmons in it. I though that it needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States