Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Made this exactly as above except I substitute one cup of the white sugar for brown. I have been making this for many, many years now and people are always asking when I will have it again! Definitely a keeper. I never buy persimmons in the store as we live close to local growers and they sell for way cheaper. Make sure you use really ripe persimmons like you would almost not want to use them they are almost oozing out! Makes it really gooooooooooood! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlewPicksy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Shingle Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
A good recipe if you're just trying to get rid of your persimmons...not if you actually want to taste the persimmons. This is a tasty bread in and of itself, but lacks persimmon flavor....which is disappointing to me and kind of defeats the purpose of using persimmons, no? Sometimes I think it is a bad sign when many reviewers say "this is a recipe for people who don't like persimmons"...it's b/c you can't taste any of it! It seems very hard to find recipes that actually showcase the flavor of these beautiful fruits rather than hide it under lots of sugar. Also, I cut the amount of sugar used by almost half, and I still think it's a tad sweet. I also added a pinch of allspice and some freshly ground nutmeg and baked half the batter in muffin tins (done in about 30 mins) and half in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Excellent all the way around! I used a bundt cake pan and it turned out great. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
this recipe was awesome! we gave a loaf of this (i baked w/2 loaf pans instead) to our family who raved over it. it is not too terribly sweet,it is moist,tasty and unique. i made this because someone had given our family 2 dozen persimmons! i hated to think of any being wasted or going bad so i found this recipe on this site and it was well worth making. i would recommend this and i would make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Love this bread! I modified for a healthier version by using one cup less sugar, substituted the oil with unsweetened applesauce and used egg beaters versus real eggs. I also added 1/2 tsp. clove for personal taste. Turned out moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April1975

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I had no idea what to do with 4 persimmons a friend gave me. So, I peeled them, put the in the food processor and cut the white sugar to 2 C and 1/2 C brown sugar. I replaced half the oil with applesauce and added a little ginger. What a great recipe! I was glad to use some of the other postings for tips on making this. It has great flavor and is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This bread is wonderful, thanks for posting it! We skipped the nuts, since there's a nut allergy problem in the family. I might also reduce the sugar to 2.5 cups next time (although it's very good as is). I might add, that when making persimmon recipes, it's always easier to get the persimmon pulp using an extractor attachment on a Kitchen Aid mixer or something similar. We have a native persimmon tree, and the fruit is small and loaded with hard seeds. You have to de-seed the fruit before you run it through the extractor (found that one out the hard way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Bread was delicious, although it was a bit dense. I made mine in cupcake tins so perhaps I was expecting something lighter. The taste was GREAT. just could have been a bit "lighter".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Good! I didn't have any ripe persimmons at hand, so I put the persimmons in a blender and blend them into a mush. I halved the oil,and used olive oil instead. Also halved the sugar, used more brown sugar instead of white, and sub 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat flour. Added diced dates. Will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. Very good. I baked 1 loaf and 1 small bundt. Next time I'll cut the sugar a little. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sew What?

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States