Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This bread was a hit! I made all 3 bread pans with and had less than 1/2 to bring home after bringing them to the swing dancing class I teach. No one had a clue what persimmons were when I brought this but several people wanted to find out more after eating my bread! I did make a few alterations; I used 1 cup tubinado (sugar in the raw) with 1 1/2 cups of white sugar, used 2 1/2 tsps of cinnamon (a live cinnamon), used 2 cups white and 1 cup wheat flour, and left out the walnuts (I didn't have any). I did sprinkle turbinado on the top before backing to give it a crisp, sweet crust and in the future might use a little extra persimmon pulp so its more "persimmony". These changes were minor and just made the bread a little healthier and hardier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Love it. Easy to make. Very moist. I substitute 1/2 of the oil with apple sauce. It become a bit too sweet. I should have reduce the sugar at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
(Vegan changes) A friend gave me some persimmons, I am not a persimmon lover, so it took me a while to use them. Reluctantly I tried this recipe and was amazed how good it was. I am a vegan so I altered the recipe a bit. 1/4 cup flax-seed meal + 1/4 cup warm water, mixed together and set aside for a min. (used as egg replacer) I used 2 1/2 Cup Florida crystals + 1 Tab molasses, (instead of the sugar.) 3 tea Rumfords baking powder (instead of the soda.) I cut the oil to 1/2 cup. And used !/2 the flour in whole wheat. Turned out great, with just the right amount of moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Your recipe turn out good, a great tasting bread. Mine did not stick to the glass loaf dish. This was my first time trying this recipe. Thank-you for a great bread, I will cook this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caboose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Made this exactly as above except I substitute one cup of the white sugar for brown. I have been making this for many, many years now and people are always asking when I will have it again! Definitely a keeper. I never buy persimmons in the store as we live close to local growers and they sell for way cheaper. Make sure you use really ripe persimmons like you would almost not want to use them they are almost oozing out! Makes it really gooooooooooood! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlewPicksy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Shingle Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
A good recipe if you're just trying to get rid of your persimmons...not if you actually want to taste the persimmons. This is a tasty bread in and of itself, but lacks persimmon flavor....which is disappointing to me and kind of defeats the purpose of using persimmons, no? Sometimes I think it is a bad sign when many reviewers say "this is a recipe for people who don't like persimmons"...it's b/c you can't taste any of it! It seems very hard to find recipes that actually showcase the flavor of these beautiful fruits rather than hide it under lots of sugar. Also, I cut the amount of sugar used by almost half, and I still think it's a tad sweet. I also added a pinch of allspice and some freshly ground nutmeg and baked half the batter in muffin tins (done in about 30 mins) and half in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Excellent all the way around! I used a bundt cake pan and it turned out great. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
this recipe was awesome! we gave a loaf of this (i baked w/2 loaf pans instead) to our family who raved over it. it is not too terribly sweet,it is moist,tasty and unique. i made this because someone had given our family 2 dozen persimmons! i hated to think of any being wasted or going bad so i found this recipe on this site and it was well worth making. i would recommend this and i would make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Love this bread! I modified for a healthier version by using one cup less sugar, substituted the oil with unsweetened applesauce and used egg beaters versus real eggs. I also added 1/2 tsp. clove for personal taste. Turned out moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April1975

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I had no idea what to do with 4 persimmons a friend gave me. So, I peeled them, put the in the food processor and cut the white sugar to 2 C and 1/2 C brown sugar. I replaced half the oil with applesauce and added a little ginger. What a great recipe! I was glad to use some of the other postings for tips on making this. It has great flavor and is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States