Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it was very good. My family including my 4 year old liked it, but it was a bit sweet for my taste. I will definitely try it again and cut back on the sugar next time. I will also try doubling the persimmon to get more of its flavor. As is, the bread tasted like a spice cake and I couldn't really taste the persimmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I can not make enough of this for my family and friends. I have used pecans and walnuts. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Excellent! I've made this twice now and both times it came out great! It's not super sweet like I thought it might be, which is good! Adults and kids can both enjoy this recipe. It's pretty easy to follow and it tastes great. The only thing is that it doesn't have a strong taste of persimmon, but maybe that's a good thing? I made it during Christmas time and gave it to my parents and other family. Everyone really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great recipe, my young Grandchildren could not get enough of it. I had to promise I would make more the next time they came. I have people already asking for the recipe and I only made it once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This bread was good, but it didn't blow my hair back. It was sweet and yummy, but you couldn't really taste the persimmon. Maybe I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bizzle's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Made this recipe many times. Tweak the ingredients - reduced sugar to 2 C brn sugar, increase persimmon to 1 1/2 cup & eliminated the water, added spices suggested by other reviewers i.e., 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp ginger (if I had these) & 1/2 cloves. Kept moist for several days. Not to sweet or mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
sooo good! was able to really taste the persimmon flavor by doubling the pulp and omitting the water as another reviewer suggested. i also cut the sugar depending on the sweetness of my fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4in4mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This bread was a hit! I made all 3 bread pans with and had less than 1/2 to bring home after bringing them to the swing dancing class I teach. No one had a clue what persimmons were when I brought this but several people wanted to find out more after eating my bread! I did make a few alterations; I used 1 cup tubinado (sugar in the raw) with 1 1/2 cups of white sugar, used 2 1/2 tsps of cinnamon (a live cinnamon), used 2 cups white and 1 cup wheat flour, and left out the walnuts (I didn't have any). I did sprinkle turbinado on the top before backing to give it a crisp, sweet crust and in the future might use a little extra persimmon pulp so its more "persimmony". These changes were minor and just made the bread a little healthier and hardier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Love it. Easy to make. Very moist. I substitute 1/2 of the oil with apple sauce. It become a bit too sweet. I should have reduce the sugar at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
(Vegan changes) A friend gave me some persimmons, I am not a persimmon lover, so it took me a while to use them. Reluctantly I tried this recipe and was amazed how good it was. I am a vegan so I altered the recipe a bit. 1/4 cup flax-seed meal + 1/4 cup warm water, mixed together and set aside for a min. (used as egg replacer) I used 2 1/2 Cup Florida crystals + 1 Tab molasses, (instead of the sugar.) 3 tea Rumfords baking powder (instead of the soda.) I cut the oil to 1/2 cup. And used !/2 the flour in whole wheat. Turned out great, with just the right amount of moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States