Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is the best Fall/Christmas giveaway!! I made them into cupcakes and yielded 30. i added ground ginger, used fresh nutmeg and grated it with microplane. to make it more dense, i added 1/2 cup buttermilk. and baked them at 350F for 21 minutes, turning halfway. My husband says it's the best cupcake he had tasted among all the cakes i made so far. LOL. These cupcakes will be my share with my 4yr old Halloween party in school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redgbee
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was the first time I had ever had persimmons. I never thought they were so good. This is the only recipe I will ever use for persimmon bread. It's hands down a five star recipe. All of my family loves this bread and is always asking when I'm going to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plum Grove, Texas, USA
Living In: Diboll, Texas, USA
Photo by sparklfly
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. But I also made a few changes:I used 1 cup of organic coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, used 1.5 cups of organic sugar instead of 3 cups (3 was way too sweet for me), I used organic kamut flour instead of all-purpose flour, I used 2 eggs instead of 4, and I added 1 cup of organic dried currants Delish! It was a hit, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparklfly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Quite good! I didn't add walnuts but did everything else exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Howell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I was reading some of your comments and saw that some of you had "almost" ripe persimmons. Persimmons will immediately ripen after the first frost. To simulate that first frost put the persimmons you want to use in the freezer over night. Defrost at room temperature and they are ripe and ready to use. Thank you for all your positive feed back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very good! Fluffy and moist, some parts of the persimmon were not fully pureed so it tasted like jam in some spots! Great taste! I only used 2 cups of sugar, no water and added an extra 1/2 cup of persimmon as per some other reviewers. Made it in two silicon loaf pans. Delicious! Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it was very good. My family including my 4 year old liked it, but it was a bit sweet for my taste. I will definitely try it again and cut back on the sugar next time. I will also try doubling the persimmon to get more of its flavor. As is, the bread tasted like a spice cake and I couldn't really taste the persimmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I can not make enough of this for my family and friends. I have used pecans and walnuts. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Excellent! I've made this twice now and both times it came out great! It's not super sweet like I thought it might be, which is good! Adults and kids can both enjoy this recipe. It's pretty easy to follow and it tastes great. The only thing is that it doesn't have a strong taste of persimmon, but maybe that's a good thing? I made it during Christmas time and gave it to my parents and other family. Everyone really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great recipe, my young Grandchildren could not get enough of it. I had to promise I would make more the next time they came. I have people already asking for the recipe and I only made it once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States