Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very tasty. I only had my bread and muffins in for 45 min. I added a snack cup size of applesauce instead of water. Should have added raisins! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EatsBooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I really liked this recipe! I used 1 1/2 cups sugar also and it was still pretty sweet. I also cut the oil in half and used applesauce. We always bake with Spelt flour (low gluten content) so I used that and it was great! I added vanilla as well and only used 2T water with extra permission pulp. Sprinkled sugar and cinnamon on top! Next time I will add cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This recipe is the first time I have ever cooked with or even tasted persimmons. I think these turned out great. The alterations I made were: 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c. applesauce instead of the full cup of oil. 3/4 c brown sugar and 3/4 c. white sugar. I still think it was too sweet. Omit the water all together. I didn't add nuts but will next time. I will add some ginger next time too. The texture was wonderful and very moist. This made 18 muffins but I could have been stretched to prob. 22. I just finished making some more persimmon puree and will be making more muffins to share at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I made this for a dorm full of college girls (and a few guys). They all thought it was great - after they got over the name! This was my first time baking with persimmons and I'll definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
It was a little bit dry and had a very little persimmon flavor. So the second time I made it, I eliminated the water and used 2 cups of persimmon puree. I also added 1 more cup of oil and 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract. I also used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. It was extremely moist and had a cake-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Very tasty! I used a little more persimmon and a little less water :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is the best Fall/Christmas giveaway!! I made them into cupcakes and yielded 30. i added ground ginger, used fresh nutmeg and grated it with microplane. to make it more dense, i added 1/2 cup buttermilk. and baked them at 350F for 21 minutes, turning halfway. My husband says it's the best cupcake he had tasted among all the cakes i made so far. LOL. These cupcakes will be my share with my 4yr old Halloween party in school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redgbee
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was the first time I had ever had persimmons. I never thought they were so good. This is the only recipe I will ever use for persimmon bread. It's hands down a five star recipe. All of my family loves this bread and is always asking when I'm going to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plum Grove, Texas, USA
Living In: Diboll, Texas, USA
Photo by sparklfly
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. But I also made a few changes:I used 1 cup of organic coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, used 1.5 cups of organic sugar instead of 3 cups (3 was way too sweet for me), I used organic kamut flour instead of all-purpose flour, I used 2 eggs instead of 4, and I added 1 cup of organic dried currants Delish! It was a hit, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparklfly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Quite good! I didn't add walnuts but did everything else exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I_Wanna_Bite!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States