Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a nice bread, nice and moist, nice texture, but the star ingredient could be anything because you sure can't taste the persimmon. I used finely chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I quadrupled the recipe to give away as Christmas presents, and in so doing reduced the egg count by two. I find that beating the batter in my KitchenAid stand mixer really well, makes for a such a creamy batter that I can reduce the egg count slightly with no reduction in quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
3.5 stars. I thought it was a good variation of pumpkin bread. I actually was considering making this recipe and the Downeast Main Pumpkin Bread with persimmon instead. The recipes were so incredibly similar. There was more pulp (15oz vs 1c) in the pumpkin bread recipe (and half a cup more flour to compensate) and a couple more spices. So I made those adjustments, dropped the batter in muffin tins, and kept the oven temp the same, but decreased the baking time to 20 min. I think that with my oven, it could have stayed in there a min or so longer, since I like a very caramelized top. But what came out was moist and the texture was not dense at all. I have some more persimmon my father had gifted me, and will probably make this again in loaf form or try the persimmon cookie recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I liked all the suggestions here! I used 2 cups of brown sugar - plenty sweet. Used olive oil and next time I will use less as suggested. Added ground cloves and would increase all spices a bit next time. Added some chocolate chips that I had around - good addition. I would use more persimmon also and decrease the water as suggested. Made 2 dozen mini muffins and 2 dozen regular muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
THIS RECIPE WAS SO GREAT! Instead of three small loaves, made two regular sized loaves. I also added 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and spread brown sugar on the top about five minutes before they came out of the oven. Oh, and I hate walnuts, so I just skipped them and the bread was fantastic anyway. This bread is so incredibly moist and yummy, it had all of my co-workers wanting the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I tweaked this a lot to make it use more persimmons and have a denser, more quick-bread like texture. I used 1 1/4 cups white sugar, 1 1/4 cups brown sugar, cut the oil in half and substituted persimmons for the other half cup of oil. I also substituted persimmons for half of the water. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I've never had persimmons but I omitted the water, doubled the persimmon pulp, used half white sugar and half brown sugar, also added crainsins because i had some and it tastes great! Great use of my bountiful basket fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Making the recipe as-is produce a very sweet, tasty, and mild bread. It wasn't as spicy as I'd like, but my friends enjoyed it. Next time I make this, I'll add more persimmon (as others have suggested), reduce the amount of sugar to 1.5 cups, add 1 cup brown sugar, leave out the water and add more spices (1/2 tsp. each of cloves, allspice, ginger). I also might just mix the persimmon straight into the batter, rather than mix it with baking soda separately. It solidified quickly and I'm not sure how well it mixed in...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaConchita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
We really enjoyed this bread! I made a few changes- for oil, I used 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applsauce. Then 2 1/2 c. brown sugar instead of sugar. I also omitted the water and put in 1 1/2 c. persimmon pulp and added 1/4 tsp of ginger. I put the ground walnuts on top, and it made for a very pretty loaf. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I thought this recipe was decent and used up 2 persimmons that I got in my bountiful basket. I made it into 2 large loaves of bread. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States