Persimmon Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I did not like it too sweet and dry my husband tried it he said no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
It was great, but need to test for doneness before the hour. Also added a lemon glaze, which added a zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is such a yummy bread. I made persimmon jam which I will substitute for the persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Followed recipe to a T except I substituted 1 cup white flour for 1 cup whole wheat flour. Delicious! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this bread and it turned out so good. I did use one extra persimmon and fresh nutmeg. That is what made it so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Pretty good recipe. The only change I made was butter for the oil. I am looking forward to trying the other variations in the reviews. I'd definitely like to try doubling the persimmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Eh. I think I just didn't like the persimmon flavor much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I had enough pulp to do 3 batches of this bread. I made all 3 into muffins. If you do that, make sure you remember to cut down the baking time. (I almost burned my 1st batch.) All 3 batches I did cut the sugar as suggested by others. I did 1-1/2 cups. I think 2 cups would be a bit better. I also replaced the oil with apple sauce in all of them. The first batch I then did the rest as written. The next batch, I followed the suggestions to increase pulp to 1-1/2cups and delete the water. Tasting both batches together, we could taste a slightly higher persimmon flavor in the 2nd batch. The 3rd batch I kept the increased pulp and added extra seasonings as suggested by other reviews. We did not notice a difference. These were great muffins, no matter which variation we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is very delish recipe. I use Pecan instead of Walnut..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina4man

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
While cleaning my Mom's freezer, I found some frozen persimmon pulp. I have never baked persimmon anything so thought I would try this bread recipe. I got the jitters after reading all the tweaking reviews but ended up tweaking my own since I frequently bake banana bread. I used 2 cups persimmon pulp and 1 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup of oil, 1 tsp vanilla, 2 1/2 cups sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I didn't want to add the water since there is water already in the fruits. The bread turned out dense, moist and great flavor. My recipe made 4 medium sized loaves to which I added a variety walnuts and raisins (left one plain) I cut the temp bake to 325 and cut the baking time too because of the smaller loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La_ura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States