Persimmon Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very good recipe. However, a bit health conscious, and felt this yielded a more moist bread, with more flavors Modifications 1/8 tsp All Spice 1/4 tsp nutmeg 1/3 cup oil instead of 1/2 cup 1 1/2 cups persimmon (another 1/2 tsp baking soda) 1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe and my bread turned out delicious and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Spade
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Simple recipe. DELICIOUS results! Moist and great with Pumpkin Spice coffee! I didn't have raisins at the time so I substituted with craisins. Even someone who doesn't like persimmons was skeptical and anticipated disliking it. She tried it and really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Spade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I did do a couple substitutes. I used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 vegetable oil(i used grapeseed) and 1/2 whole grain flour(I used Spelt). It turned out amazing, our family couldn't stop eating it! Next time I am going to cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup to make it a little less sweet because I like my bread a little less sweet than most people. It was very moist and excellent with walnuts and raisens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Easy & delicious. It was very moist & smells like fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made this and added 1/2 cup nor of the persimmon pulp to sweeten the bread. Really good moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a great reciepe it was gone in five minutes I will be making this again. I got lots of compliments. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
excellent! My family had never tasted persimmons before; someone gave me a baf full of them and this was a great intro...kids ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Replace 1/4 cup of sugar with applesauce and add currants and dark chocolate chips! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allan
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe but floured the pan after applying a thin coating of butter. It did not stick to the pan. It tasted like a good spice cake but had very little persimmons flavor which was disappointing. Good to use if you have extra persimmons to use before going bad. I used "Sweet Pumpkin Persimmons" which are meaty,sweet, and don't need to be ripened. The bread is dark and looks burnt but does not taste burnt and is moist. This is a lot of work for a spice bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States