Persimmon Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a great reciepe it was gone in five minutes I will be making this again. I got lots of compliments. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
excellent! My family had never tasted persimmons before; someone gave me a baf full of them and this was a great intro...kids ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Replace 1/4 cup of sugar with applesauce and add currants and dark chocolate chips! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allan
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe but floured the pan after applying a thin coating of butter. It did not stick to the pan. It tasted like a good spice cake but had very little persimmons flavor which was disappointing. Good to use if you have extra persimmons to use before going bad. I used "Sweet Pumpkin Persimmons" which are meaty,sweet, and don't need to be ripened. The bread is dark and looks burnt but does not taste burnt and is moist. This is a lot of work for a spice bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Wonderful recipe except needing to add "dash of cloves & 1/2 tsp nutmeg" otherwise great I also pealed and boiled the persimmons for about 20 min an put in blender... Also put a cream cheese frosting on there come out so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Excellent I added 1tsp nutmeg and chopped almonds, very good, it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Very good recipe! I bake it in my bread machine so takes very little effort on my part. I do the recipe almost as written but add a little nutmeg and cloves. Also have added just a little more pulp than called for if there is just a little left over from my frozen pulp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Sumptuous and moist. Higher on the yummy scale than any banana bread I've ever made. I used Splenda instead of sugar, for my diabetic Uncle. Don't cut the persimmon pieces too small - it's a bonus to get a nice chunk of persimmon in your slice! Cannot wait till next winter when our persimmons ripen on the tree, so that I can make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is my favorite way to eat persimmons! I doubled it and baked it in two 8in. round pans. I did modify it though to make it gluten free: I used (for a doubled recipe) 1 1/4 c. millet flour, 1 1/4 c. rice flour, 1/2 c. tapioca starch, plus, 1 1/4 tsp. xanthan gum, and only 1 c. sugar instead of 1 1/2 c. I always use less sugar in my baking and things turn out fine. I will make this again and would like to try layering the cakes with cream cheese frosting. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FastGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was my first time making persimmon bread and I was pleasantly surprised by how declicious it turned out. My entire family loved it, even my 7 year old who does not usually like anything with raisins in it. I made no changes to the recipe other than omitting nuts, since most in my household do not like nuts. It was super moist. The 75 minute cooking time was much too long. I baked 4 loaves and they all cooked between 45 to 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States