Persimmon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have made persimmon cookies for many years and I have a great recipe; but now I am so busy so I looked for a bar recipe and honestly my husband and I both said the bars are delicious! Thank you for sharing grandma's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These were wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Changes I made: I used melted butter instead of oil. The bars were OK but somewhat more oily than tasty, to me. Also, the persimmon taste, even with an extra persimmon, was hardly evident. Friends liked the, but said they tasted like raisins and cinnamon. Not bad but not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I make this in the fall from our home-grown persimmons and everyone asks for the recipe. It's quicker than cookies and turns out great every time. I make 1 1/2 batches to fit in a my larger jelly-roll pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Excellent! I went with melted butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 2 tbsp cinnamon, 1 tbsp allspice, 1 tsp ginger. I used pecans and golden raisins, then topped w/ cream cheese frosting. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great recipe! I followed one reviewer's suggestion of adding an extra persimmon, skipping the cloves and using butter instead of oil. (I made an additional modification and mixed in 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract with the beaten egg and sugar). The bars were super moist and tasty...almost like indulging in a delicious carrot cake. I topped mine with cream cheese frosting and they were FANTASTIC. Note: with my version, the bars weren't ready until 40-45 minutes (about twice as long as the original 20 minutes called out in the recipe)...still very much worth the wait !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Good treat. I like the topping. Should probably double the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was the first time I have cooked with persimmons and I was pleasantly surprised. I left out the raisins because I don't care for them, but it was still very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
not really "bars", more like a bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
A wonderful recipe! I made it just as it stated and they are great. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States