Persian Yogurt Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I have this recipe from Persian relatives except that the recipe I am accustomed to has mint in it also. It's easy to alter with more cucumber making it chunkier, or more yogurt and smaller chunks of yogurt so it's more of a sauce. Play with it. Just a spoonful on your plate to accompany grilled meats or fish is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jc812
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I used nonfat Greek Yogurt instead of plain, and added about 3 tbl of sour cream for more dimension. Added mint (in addition to dill), parley, ground cinnamon, ground ginger, paprika, a dash of lemon juice and used a cheese grater to have smaller cucumbers into the mixture. It was great! I incorporated all of these other flavors from another recipe I saw.. and it worked beautifully. Ate it with some chicken kabobs and had it as a dressing for my salad. Super healthy and tastes so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc812

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Yreplace the garlice with FRESH garlic - add raisin - add walnut And for decoration: - Saffron - damask rose - dried mint or dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tehran, Tehran, Iran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was very good but the ratios are way off. To avoid getting a soupy dish I used 3 big cucumbers + about 15 oz plain yogurt and kept the seasonings the same (adjusting salt/ pepper of course). I also added fresh parsley from my garden and doubled dill and garlic. This made a kind of a cross between a chunky tzaziki and a cucumber salad which is enjoyable as a side to a spicy main dish, or as gyro garnish (depending on how small you chop your cucumbers.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Facehole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Very good with the caveat that I did not use anywhere near this much yogurt primarily because we would never use that much of the dressing. I used about 10 ounces of it and halved both the garlic and dill keeping the cucumber the same. Added kosher salt & ground pepper to my taste. Served it with a lentils & rice dish and it was wonderful. Perfect tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Beautiful! I used less yogurt like many reviews said, but I have to say that I enjoyed it right away (couldn't wait, it looked sooooo good) more than later. But it was still darn good a couple days later over some fresh greens. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mynattygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I used greek style yogurt, mint instead of dill (this is more authentic), and and handful of raisins (yes this sounds odd, but it's oh so good!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was okay. I think it would taste better with mint instead of dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I thought it was too bland, but my mom seemed to like it (maybe because its healthy?) It may be that I didn't let it sit over night to infuse the flavors. I might try it again and do that, but I'll probably just look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This was perfect with our kababs and we made gyros with this. I shredded the cucumber with the small side of the cheese grater. I used greek yogurt, kosher salt and just a sprinkle or two of coarse ground black pepper. My son even said this is the best tzaiziki sauce so don't lose this recipe! (I can't spell it, you know the stuff I mean) I added about a half tsp of dried mint too since it was in the meat marinade. Thanks, we loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States