Persian Shish Kabob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
My husband's family make kabob by omitting the lime juice and marinating the meat in a cup of yogurt mixed with one minced onion. I also add a pinch of dried mint. We grill these with onion wedges and tomatoes and serve it with Persian rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2000
I used a cheap cut of beef for this recipe and I think it was a mistake. Using a filet would have produced a much more tender result. It was delicious none-the-less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
So *that's* how you marinate it! Second time around, I alternated cherry tomatoes and shallots between the pieces of meat. Getting the extra skewers lead -- counter-intuitively -- to a healthier meal. This is because a skewerful of meat is a deceptively large portion. The additions also improved the presentation and flavor. Next time, I will add some fresh green chilli peppers to the overnight marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Yogurt is an excellent marinade. My husband was very doubtful, but it turned out wonderfully. We added some spices to this, cumin, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
These were awesome. My husband and I love persian food and now we dont have to leave home to have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
I made this recipe for a work cook out and it was a hit. I must say that I had my doubts but wanting to try something new I gave it a shot.When I made the maranade I tasted it and thought that I may have made a mistake choosing this recipe. Once the meat was cooked it turned out to be one of the best tasting beef dishes that I have ever expericenced! Give it a try and I hope that you enjoy it as much as my coworkers and I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Centro, California, USA
Living In: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
My husband says " give it a 5!" We really liked this ALOT. Its amazing the amount of flavor that comes out of these very few, very simple ingredients. If you can't afford the tenderloin, try mixing these ingredients into ground beef, and making meatballs to bake. Served with pita bread, and a little tomato/onion relish, we enjoyed this as lunch one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This has a wonderful flavor! The only modification I made was reducing the salt because we are on low sodium diets. Instead of chopping the onions, I cut them into chunks and added them with the meat to the marinade. I placed all in a plastic bag, expelled the air, and sealed it. I placed the onions on the skewers along with other veggies. Next time I will marinate some vegetables, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This was a great recipe! I made it using ground beef and shaped it around the skewer kind of sausage-like and then grilled it. I also tried it with ground chicken. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ernestina Sanchez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Kofta Kebabs

Ground lamb is marinated in fragrant spices and grilled on skewers.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States