Persian Sabzi Polo (Herb Rice with Fava Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was a great recipe and a big hit for Norooz diner with fish. Will do it again. I added Maggi to the water while boiling and used butter instead of oil. Thanks Gondwana for the recipe. Awsome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Couldn't find fava beans, but substituted baby limas and it came out just as I remembered it. However, this recipe makes a lot. I mean A LOT! So you might want to scale it back a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. My Persian/Iranian husband recently passed away but he left us some wonderful dishes including this one. He used the towel over the pot before replacing the lid method which helped form the tadig perfectly. Before sealing the pot with the towel, he would mound the rice and dill mixture up into a "hill" in the pot and sprinkle quite a bit of turmeric on top making a golden surface to the hill. He said it is traditional for each person to get some of the tadig to crunch along with the softer rice. I miss him greatly and cook his "legacies" often. My very American son is addicted to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This made the house smell wonderful! I used another reviewers recommendation and put a damp towel over the top, worked like a charm and the crust at the bottom was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quita143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cortland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
really tasty rice dish, i loved that crispy rice at the bottom of the pan. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
This is delicious! To answer ur question Flix..the oil is to be mixed with the rest of the ingredients all together, and you can also use butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
My friend's mother used to make this, and I have looked for a long time for the recipe. Thanks! I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Quite delicious! The dill overpowered other herbs but was very interesting overall. Made a lot too (even though I made 1/4th of the recipe given)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I've made this recipe a while ago, and I thought it was a good Persian rice dish. But, I noticed that one person used dried beans? Dried bean have to be soaked overnight and also cooked before you can do anything with them! Unfortunately they gave the recipe one star for having a failed recipe when they used, hard dried beans. And the rice is supposed to be slightly stuck, I usually just slide something under it and then place it back on top of the serving dish of rice. Does anyone have any tips to offer for the best crust? ie: type of pan/wrapping lid in a tea towel?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I love Sabzi Polo! When I prepare the rice I rinse it then put it in boiling water for 5-8 minutes, drain rice in a strainer, dry pot out with a towel and pour the vegetable oil on the bottom, mix rice with herbs & favas then transfer rice to pot and cook on low for 45 minutes. Make sure to wrap a towel around the pot lid so it absorbs the water that would fall back in the rice otherwise, try it trust me it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States