Persian Sabzi Polo (Herb Rice with Fava Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
This is delicious! To answer ur question Flix..the oil is to be mixed with the rest of the ingredients all together, and you can also use butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This comment is from the author of Persian Sabzi Polo. I apologize for not telling you what to do with the oil. I usually first bring the water to boil, then add the rice and let it boil until the rice rises to the top. Then I drain the rice, add 2 or 3 Tablespoons of oil mixed with half a cup of water in the pot before I mix the other ingredients with the rice and put it back into the pot. Then I cook the rice on medium heat for 5 minutes and then reduce the heat and cook the rice for the remaining time already mentioned in the original recipe. I hope this helps in motivating more people to make this dish. Viostars idea of mixing the oil with the rice and herbs is also good. Note: You can use lima beans from the freezer section in your grocery store instead of fresh fava beans. Thank you....Neda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I have a persian husband and have made this several times and have tweaked it each time and I think I've come up with the perfect version that guests can't stop talking about. I cook the rice with butter and chicken stock and dried onion. When it's done I add fresh chopped dill and parsley, canned fava beans and salt and pepper. Fresh herbs taste better than boiled herbs!! It's simple and everyone who tries it at my house loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Yummy! Reminds me of the rice that my Iranian neighbors used to make for me - love the crispy part! Thanks so much, I have been looking for a recipe like this for quite some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I made this recipe with brown rice instead of white (personal preference). It tasted great! I think I might try it next time with fresh herbs added at the end (instead of during the cooking process).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Disaster. Recipe should say that fava beans were FRESH. ugh :( I used dry ones. The rice tasted ok but I'm really annoyed about the bean situation. Plus the rice on the bottom of the pan is a real pain to get out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
My friend's mother used to make this, and I have looked for a long time for the recipe. Thanks! I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Rice was good but was slightly dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Quite delicious! The dill overpowered other herbs but was very interesting overall. Made a lot too (even though I made 1/4th of the recipe given)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I've made this recipe a while ago, and I thought it was a good Persian rice dish. But, I noticed that one person used dried beans? Dried bean have to be soaked overnight and also cooked before you can do anything with them! Unfortunately they gave the recipe one star for having a failed recipe when they used, hard dried beans. And the rice is supposed to be slightly stuck, I usually just slide something under it and then place it back on top of the serving dish of rice. Does anyone have any tips to offer for the best crust? ie: type of pan/wrapping lid in a tea towel?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States