Persian Fesenjun Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
this is a good recipe, but missing the most vital ingredient! crushed dates!!!!! about 1/2 a cup should do. other than that this recipe looks good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I sauted the onions briefly first and then ground it as well with the walnuts. Used tofu....takes time but definitely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
We did not care for this recipe at all. I used a 10 oz bottle of pomegranate molasses. I was under the impression that it is the same thing as pomegranate paste or syrup. Perhaps that is where I went wrong(?) It was way too tart and sour for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Having read through the reviews I want to reach out with a word of warning: This dish is considered one of the "hardest" Persian khoreshes to make. I'm thrilled so many people succeeded in getting the right flavour but for those who didn't, please bear in mind it takes time to intuitively know how to create the perfect harmony between the natural secretion of walnut oil and the sweet-sour richness of pomegranate syrup. Don't be hard on yourself, worst case scenario: Consult an Iranian grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parmis
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Just wanted to let folks know that there is a special product (I live in France and you can only find it at Middle Eastern grocers) that is pomegranate syrup, which is different than pomegranate juice. Think of pomegranate juice that has been boiled down to its essence with sugar added. It has the consistency of maple syrup with a darker color and more intensity. I think that it would be very difficult to find in the US and this could account for the disasters in the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I make Fesenjan all the time (I am iranian) and like the other person I find you are missing a few ingredients. Try adding tumeric, salt and pepper to taste when you brown the chicken, then add a couple of spoonfuls of sugar to taste when you add the pomegranate syrup. Also Pomegranate paste is NOT the same as syrup. If you use paste you need only 2-4 TB as it is thicker than molasses and will be VERY strong. In that case also add an equal amount of ketchup and slightly less sugar. (Paste is usually home-made.) I also prefer the taste of corn oil in this to olive and you will note the oil will be slightly yellow because of the turmeric. You can easily skim oil off if it bothers you. I also cook my onion and walnuts together rather than apart as it keeps the walnuts from burning and is easier to just grind them together in the cusinart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Instead of the paste/syrup, I used a 64 oz bottle of pomegranate juice boiled for about an hour to reduce down it down to 10 ounces. I still needed to put in a little cornstarch at the very end to thicken it slightly, but it worked just fine. I also added about 4 TBLspns brown sugar and 2 tsps each of tumeric and ground cardamom. It was a little tart, but this would have been fixed by adding more brown sugar. Will make it again, and may add in just a little bit of minced garlic with the onions to give it an extra something. (Serve with basmati rice & naan!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Could not find how to make this. Thanks for the recipe. Regards, Paiman Allage IT Company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
this is almost the way my father makes this dish its amazing!!!! sometimes depending on your taste you can add some sugar to it but at the very end for some extra taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Fesenjun over rice is my alltime favorite Persian dish. My Iranian husband learned how to make this from his father who is an excellent cook. The way they make it is the best. They fry the onion in oil along with the chicken until the onion is tender and the chicken is lightly browned. Then they remove the chicken and onions to a pot. Then walnuts finely ground up in a food processor are browned in the skillet with the remaining oil. Then the ground and browned walnuts are added to the pot of chicken and onions along with around 8-10 ounces of pomegranate syrup, 1/4 cup of sugar (if using Turkish Pomegranate syrup) and about 2 cups of water. Then it is cooked for about an hour until the water cooks down and it is thick and the chicken breasts are starting to pull apart and then it served over rice with a dollop of plain yogurt on the side. YOU SHOULD NOT USE POMEGRANATE PASTE OR JUICE! It should be Pomegranate SYRUP and you have to pay attention to where the syrup is from. If it is Iranian pomegranate syrup you probably won't have to add sugar unless you want it to be sweeter. Turkish Pomegranate syrup is more sour so you will probably want to add sugar. You can make this dish sweet, sour or sweet & sour depending on your taste as it is made in these various ways in different parts of Iran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell Nik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States