Persian Fesenjun Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
This dish is fit for a Sultan,or the King of your house. Very easy to prepare. I served it over basmati rice. My husband is from the middle east & he said it was as good as any he has ever had!We found the Pomegranate syrup at the middle eastern store-it was called pomegranate molassas. Don't be put off by it's sweet appearance-this dish is a sweet & sour masterpiece,in looks as well as taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I made this for my wife for Valentine's Day this past February. I was a little hesitant at first because, although I love pomegranates, my wife was only indifferent to pomegranates. We both abosolutely LOVED the flavor of this dish. We had some left and give it to my mother-in-law. She loved it too. I spent three and a half years living in Iran in during the 1970s when my father was stationed there while in the U.S. Air Force. I never ran across the dish, but when I saw it, I just had to make it. My wife is wondering when I will make it again. If you can get or make some barbary bread to go with it and serve it over white rice you will have a close to authentic Persian dining experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This has been one of my favorites for many years but I make it a little bit differently. First, I use about half of the walnuts. After cooking the chicken breasts, I cut them into smaller pieces and instead of simmering the entire mixture in a skillet for 20 minutes, I bring the onion, ground walnuts, chicken, pomegranate paste and a cup or two of water (until it looks soupy) to a boil in a saucepan and add a bit of sugar and turmeric. I then cover and simmer for almost 2 hours. It's ready when the mixture has thickened. This has to be served on top of plain white rice - basmati is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I doubled the recipe for guests, but used the same amount of pomegranate juice as for the single recipe. I used water and vegeta seasoning (as I'd run out of stock) for the remainder of the liquid. It turned out GREAT. I was slightly concerned no-one would try it out, since it has an unusual appearance if you're not used to cooking with ground nuts, but I guess my friends are used to my wild culinary experiments, and they went for it. It was the most favoured part of the meal, together with the Syrian beans I made from AllRecipes. They loved it, and I did too... And it's so amazingly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
this is almost the way my father makes this dish its amazing!!!! sometimes depending on your taste you can add some sugar to it but at the very end for some extra taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Could not find how to make this. Thanks for the recipe. Regards, Paiman Allage IT Company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I make Fesenjan all the time (I am iranian) and like the other person I find you are missing a few ingredients. Try adding tumeric, salt and pepper to taste when you brown the chicken, then add a couple of spoonfuls of sugar to taste when you add the pomegranate syrup. Also Pomegranate paste is NOT the same as syrup. If you use paste you need only 2-4 TB as it is thicker than molasses and will be VERY strong. In that case also add an equal amount of ketchup and slightly less sugar. (Paste is usually home-made.) I also prefer the taste of corn oil in this to olive and you will note the oil will be slightly yellow because of the turmeric. You can easily skim oil off if it bothers you. I also cook my onion and walnuts together rather than apart as it keeps the walnuts from burning and is easier to just grind them together in the cusinart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Just wanted to let folks know that there is a special product (I live in France and you can only find it at Middle Eastern grocers) that is pomegranate syrup, which is different than pomegranate juice. Think of pomegranate juice that has been boiled down to its essence with sugar added. It has the consistency of maple syrup with a darker color and more intensity. I think that it would be very difficult to find in the US and this could account for the disasters in the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Having read through the reviews I want to reach out with a word of warning: This dish is considered one of the "hardest" Persian khoreshes to make. I'm thrilled so many people succeeded in getting the right flavour but for those who didn't, please bear in mind it takes time to intuitively know how to create the perfect harmony between the natural secretion of walnut oil and the sweet-sour richness of pomegranate syrup. Don't be hard on yourself, worst case scenario: Consult an Iranian grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parmis
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I sauted the onions briefly first and then ground it as well with the walnuts. Used tofu....takes time but definitely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States