Persian Cucumber Yogurt (Maast-o Khiar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
My In-laws (from India) LOVED this! I'm the new star in the family. I made this to accompany the "Moroccan Lamb Kabobs" (see my review on All-Recipes), and there was none left. I followed the recipe for a serving of 4, grated the cumber to keep this as a dressing for the kabobs and followed the rest of the recipe as is, garlic and all, it was perfect. The only thing I might do is add a bit more salt. Oh, and I used low-fat yogurt because that's what I had on hand. My in-laws want me to make some to keep stocked in their fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.MomRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
this recipe is ok as is, but we always make it with dried mint, never dill. i also grate the cucumber and i do not add garlic. sometimes i add walnut and craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
it was good a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Grated the cucumber as others suggested and substituted a tablespoon of chopped red onion for the shallot. We loved it with the "Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I personally think there was way too much dill. But there's lots of great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I did vary a little but it's pretty yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My persian friends this recipe is spot-on. However, beware of portions. IT IS HUGE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrsolyaD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Absolutely gorgeous! I ate mine with celery sticks for a light snack but would definitely serve it with lamb or spicy chicken and rice. I didn't have any shallots so I used a half a tablespoon of dried onion flakes instead, and chilled it overnight. I also used 2% fat plain yogurt from Sainsbury's. I am going to serve this with the brisket during Passover for a real Middle Eastern meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Made this for my Persian in-laws. It was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
YUMMY! my only suggestion is to use a shredder and shred the cucumbers instead of cubing them. it's a little too chunky with the cucumbers cubed. but otherwise great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States