Persian Cucumber Yogurt (Maast-o Khiar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Deelicious! Reminiscent of Hungarian cucumber salad.Added a little seasoned salt or celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
In Malta this is called Tzatziki. Seems its popular all over? Very good, and a grat cool summer side dish. Its also versitile, I play around with this recipe depending on whats available. Its really good with a few sliced black olives. Sometimes I add chopped nuts too! No plain yogurt? More than once I have used sour cream and cream cheese mixed. Great with Gyro's !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
DH says this taste just like his momon used to make! My FIL also like this with roasted garlic in place of the cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Very nice as salad dressing! A keeper definetely. One can vary with chopped fresh herbs, add some olive oil, cumin... I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Goiânia, Goiás, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Refreshing on a hot summer day. My husband said it was just like the stuff they serve in Turkey. I added a little celery seed because I like it--but the recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Very tasty and great with bagel chips, naan, pita, or practically any starch. I make mine extra garlicky and need something to buffer the intense taste! To make it a bit thicker, I strain the yogurt for ~6 hours - just line a strainer with mesh fabric or cheesecloth and place over a bowl. Pour the yogurt in, stir after a couple hours and wait some more. You end up with a really thick and creamy greek style yogurt that really compliments the cucumber and garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This was wonderful. I could eat it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This is one of the VERY few ways I will eat cucumber, or yogurt, for that matter. Great with falafel breaded chicken, and with fat free yogurt it's an awesome healthy substitute for tarter sauce. A dash of sesame oil gives it a tahini taste, too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I might use less shallots, but this was an easy and tasty side dish to cool down a meal. It will also be fun to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul is hungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This was a great recipe, I brought it to a party with some flat bread and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States