Persian Cucumber Yogurt (Maast-o Khiar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I am Persian also, and I agree that Maast-o-Khiar can not be forgotten in any meal. A tip for anyone making this is if don't use garlic. Garlic makes the dish taste a little less tasty. Also, the tradition is to use a grater to grate the cucumbers, not to cube them! Just thought I would share with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
In Malta this is called Tzatziki. Seems its popular all over? Very good, and a grat cool summer side dish. Its also versitile, I play around with this recipe depending on whats available. Its really good with a few sliced black olives. Sometimes I add chopped nuts too! No plain yogurt? More than once I have used sour cream and cream cheese mixed. Great with Gyro's !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Junior's_Mommy
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
My husband is Persian and he just loved this! He said it was better than his mother's=) From having eaten this before, I did leave out the garlic as I don't remember it having garlic in there and it was the exact flavor I expected. We ate it with lavash(flat bread) and Kabob...YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junior's_Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Deelicious! Reminiscent of Hungarian cucumber salad.Added a little seasoned salt or celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Great. Very reminiscent of tzaziki, just a little more mellow. I skipped the shallot because I didn't have any. Served with kabobs that were pretty oniony, so I didn't miss it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Refreshing on a hot summer day. My husband said it was just like the stuff they serve in Turkey. I added a little celery seed because I like it--but the recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Very nice as salad dressing! A keeper definetely. One can vary with chopped fresh herbs, add some olive oil, cumin... I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Goiânia, Goiás, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
We just did not care for this as written...WAY too much cucumber (we used 3 english) and dill for the amount of yogurt. We started over - vastly reducing those items and maintaining the other ingredients as written and it was much more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
DH says this taste just like his momon used to make! My FIL also like this with roasted garlic in place of the cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I have returned to this recipe over and over again for the past 5ish years. I rarely put the full amount of cucumber, and never full amount of dill, but we love this tasty condiment. If you have trouble with wateriness, be sure to seed your cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States