Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Like several of the others I used this mainly for the dough. I tripled the recipe and added fresh pepper and garlic to flavor. (For the middle I just used instant mashed potatoes, sharp cheese, Romano Cheese, and diced onions) - From start to finish which includes clean up of all the mess and getting the Perogies into the freezer (and a couple of diaper changes- yeah I washed my hands), it took me three hours. It made a total of 56 perogies that are comparable to the store bought size (I did take another reviewers advice and made them a little thicker to insure they did not fall apart). I gave a couple to my little ones with melted butter and sour cream, as well as myself - they passed! I made 8 servings of mashed potatoes - only needed about half but we will enjoy the left overs! I have never tried fry them and will try so with a batch I know have in the freezer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Hands down the whole recipe was great! When forming the pierogie. I roll out the dough and cut a circular piece out. Set on top of the piece a portion of filling. After, fold the pierogie in half and use a fork to seal the edge. I holds together very well and look more appetizing. Also frying in onion is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Perogies are my favourite food, and I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Cumminger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I'm only giving this 2 stars because even though I followed the dough recipe exactly, it was way too sticky to even handle, nevermind rolling out. I made my own filling, so I don't know how the filling in this recipe would have turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Royle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
They taste pretty good, not much different flavor from the store ones except with these you can change up the filling and you actually know what goes in them. Rolling individual balls through a pasta machine helps get the dough really thin. For some reason when I try and run the whole sheet through it just ends up breaking though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
this is a very good recipe. when i make them i allways use potato,bacon,onion,hamburger,cheese for the filling. if you try making the filling with meat, you will never go back to plain potato. I even mack them with seafood, they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I haven't tried this particular perogy recipe, but a genral tip for perogy dough making: Reserve the water you boiled your potatoes in, and use that to make your dough. The starch makes the dough easier to roll and handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Same ingredients my Polish grandmother taught my mother and I to use. A variation on the potato filling in my house is to boil the potatoes in salted water, drain when cooked, and then add American or Cheddar cheese and finely diced carmalized onions and the butter they were cooked in. I use farmer's cheese for the cheese version and to that I add 1 jumbo egg per 2 lbs of cheese, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
It was hard to get the dough thin enough for the perogies. I used the bacon filling, and I made a filling with potato, cheese, and beef. Very good, and they freeze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These came out great! The dough and I got along better the second time I made them. There was a lot of extra filling compared to the amount of dough. The second time I made them I added more cheese to the potato. Fun, I look forward to mixing up the filling ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States