Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I only used the dough recipe and it was good I think i made it too think because there was a lot of dough but it was a nice easy recipe to use and i will use it again and pass it around thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maine, New York, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Like many others i used the recipe for the dough. Not the greatest but we at least enjoyed eating the perogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchmummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
very good although i couldn't get my dough thin enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Family loved them, I made them again and used Jimmy Dean sausage instead of bacon, it tasted very good this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very good, but I have to agree with previous poster; too much potato filling for the amount of dough. Half the filling and triple the filling and it should work fine. I also agree, sautee the perogies in with the bacon and onion, than top with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Tried this recipe as it differed from my own (my mom's) and can't compare it to store bought as I've had the pleasure of never tasting store bought. I make large batches and have never used egg in my dough recipe as egg makes the dough tougher and dry out faster - thus not sticking as well as it should. But I tried it and found the dough was much stiffer than the soft, pillowy dough I use to make mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I grew up always making perogies for Chrismas Eve so this year I thought I'd try mixing some Polish heritage to my TX born husbands taste. I used a filling of garlic mashed potatoes, jalapenos, bacon and cheddar cheese. They turned out great! Served with fried onions and a little melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I am only reviewing the dough from this recipe. It was not to my liking. Rolled out fine, had good elasticity but was not fork tender after cooking. You should feel no resistance when trying to slice the pierogy. This dough is nothing like real pierogy dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Like several of the others I used this mainly for the dough. I tripled the recipe and added fresh pepper and garlic to flavor. (For the middle I just used instant mashed potatoes, sharp cheese, Romano Cheese, and diced onions) - From start to finish which includes clean up of all the mess and getting the Perogies into the freezer (and a couple of diaper changes- yeah I washed my hands), it took me three hours. It made a total of 56 perogies that are comparable to the store bought size (I did take another reviewers advice and made them a little thicker to insure they did not fall apart). I gave a couple to my little ones with melted butter and sour cream, as well as myself - they passed! I made 8 servings of mashed potatoes - only needed about half but we will enjoy the left overs! I have never tried fry them and will try so with a batch I know have in the freezer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Hands down the whole recipe was great! When forming the pierogie. I roll out the dough and cut a circular piece out. Set on top of the piece a portion of filling. After, fold the pierogie in half and use a fork to seal the edge. I holds together very well and look more appetizing. Also frying in onion is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States