Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
The dough was wonderful! The filling I guess I made a few changes. I had a bag of potatoes that were starting to grow. I peeled them and cut them in about quarters. I put them in my small crackpot. I added garlic powder, onion flakes, sea salt, pepper and about 1/2 Cup of water. I put them on low from about 10:30p.m. till I got up for work at 7a.m., give or take 20minutes. I then put the pot with lid into the fridge till about 9p.m.. I took a small amount in a bowl. Heated in the nuke just to taste. That's when I knew that they should be perogies! The next night I mashed the potatoes and made the dough. They were GREAT!!!!! Just an idea for potatoes that are about to go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Media, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Yorklyn, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
These were so easy to make. I was surprised at how sticky the dough is. I divided the dough into small dough balls and then rolled each one individually. The more you work the dough the tougher your perogy will be. I will be making another batch tomorrow! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Rodgers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
The recipe for the dough was good! However, the potato and cheese mix was great (I added some finely minced onion) but I think the ingredient list had an error - no way did it take 5 pounds of baking potatoes. I only used 3 pounds and I still had plenty left after filling up 24 perogies. Mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Amazingly tasty and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I used 1 cup semolina flour and 1 cup brown rice flour, egg replacer, little olive oil and ground flax seeds to make this a little healthier/vegan friendly. All the filling was vegan too. Sprayed non stick pan with Pam after I boiled them and it tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Double or triple dough next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I always sauted them in olive oil and garlic after boiling them and added a touch of tomatoe sauce over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
had trouble with the dough did not work out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Great dough recipe - I used my own filling in an attempt to recreate what my Finnish grandmother used to fill hers with (a mixture of potato, milk, Velveeta, salt and pepper) and they turned out great (although a few split open in the pot - my error though; I think I'll have to invest in a perogy shaper). Fried them afterwards with bacon and onions and served with sour cream. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIVSTUDENT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I doubled this recipe for my family, and it made 26 bigger than palm sized perogies. Everyone loved them (filling i picked was potato, bacon, and cheddar). I boiled them first, then fried and added some extra shredded cheddar onto which just melted from the heat. I also used slightly less water than it called for, in fear the dough may become to sticky. SOOOOO YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by modestxliving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States