Perogie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I make this recipe all the time but I used mashed potatoes instead of roasted. I use bacon, and I saute a large red onion in tons of butter. I also use loads of cheese. The red onion and bacon add alot of flavor. I think the reason it was so bland was because of the roasted potatoes. Good way to use up your left over mashed potatoes from the night before!! I also do not use the eggs, cottage cheese-only the noodles, bacon,mashed potatoes, red onion and tons of butter, also to keep the top of your casserole from getting crusty-try drizzling olive oil on top before you bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vitalismom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This is a great basic recipe, because it leaves so much room for modifications! I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese, I also just boiled and mashed my taters instead of roasting them. Cut the bacon up and crumbled it on top as opposed to layering strips across the top. I fried one red onion in butter for the top...then when it came out of the oven I scattered chopped green onions on top and drizzled sour cream on top. To me green onions and sour cream go hand in hand with perogies and bacon. The whole family loved it, even the kids wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This one gets a 5 out of 5 from our family. Taste is excellent and I, like many others, boil and mash the potatoes to save time. You can do so many variances of this recipe that it never gets boring. I use DRY cottage cheese instead of regular and I use an extra egg or two. I also have used Italian sausage removed from the casing as an alternate for the bacon. This makes it super yummy and flavourful. This is a recipe that is lengthy in preparation so I usually prepare it early in the day when I have the time, and set it aside to be cooked at supper time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherylB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
On top of how long this took to make it tasted just okay and am very disappointed. My husband was irked that it wasn't good either since he had to watch the baby while I fixed this on a Saturday afternoon. I did alter the recipe by mashing the potatoes and left out the bacon and onions but that wouldn't have changed anything in the end result. Where the recipe messed up (and I was too much of a novice to alter it ahead of time) was the fact that the recipe calls for noodles on the bottom, then the layer of cottage cheese mixture, and then another layer of noodles to be topped with potato mixture. I had tons of noodles left over but by the time I realized it the dish was already assembled. If you make this, please add more layers of noodles and alternate the fillings. Mine turned out like cheesy mashed potatoes and have a huge 9x13 pan full. We only ate just a small amount each. At least it was an inexpensive dish but being a new mom my time is very valuable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
We thought this was really good. The only thing I did differently was to saute the onion in the bacon grease, and I also added a little garlic powder. This isn't the healthiest of dishes, but it was really hearty. Thanks, Sarena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Love this recipe! I've been making this for years and it's always a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I call this recipe Lazy Man Pierogies, and it is great, the ingredients are all the same, always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FebruaryRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
I sounded so good, but I'm sorry to say I was disappointed. In all fairness, I did use turkey bacon, so that might have diminished the taste some. However, I thought the taste was a little dull and not very interesting. Also it didn't seem to come together well, the layers never really blended well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is worthy of five stars. Everybody liked it...my kids scraped off the ricotta cheese. lol. Next time I will half the recipe. We had at least half left over after me, my wife and two kids ate. I thought it was expensive too. I did buy the good bacon I guess but even the ricotta and cottage cheese were like 12 bucks. Over all though it was delicious. I followed almost exact. I used half ricotta and half cottage cheese, and didn't use eggs, cooked one LARGE diced red onion with the chopped bacon and didn't use any butter!! Will make again but half this time and maybe with less potato....so I guess that means I have to cut back on the cheddar as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Great basic recipe. I made some minor changes, boiled potatoes w/ skins on until tender then added dried minced onion & cheese. Also added some German Sausage to cottage cheese layer, definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States