Perogie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
I sounded so good, but I'm sorry to say I was disappointed. In all fairness, I did use turkey bacon, so that might have diminished the taste some. However, I thought the taste was a little dull and not very interesting. Also it didn't seem to come together well, the layers never really blended well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I make this recipe all the time but I used mashed potatoes instead of roasted. I use bacon, and I saute a large red onion in tons of butter. I also use loads of cheese. The red onion and bacon add alot of flavor. I think the reason it was so bland was because of the roasted potatoes. Good way to use up your left over mashed potatoes from the night before!! I also do not use the eggs, cottage cheese-only the noodles, bacon,mashed potatoes, red onion and tons of butter, also to keep the top of your casserole from getting crusty-try drizzling olive oil on top before you bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vitalismom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
We thought this was really good. The only thing I did differently was to saute the onion in the bacon grease, and I also added a little garlic powder. This isn't the healthiest of dishes, but it was really hearty. Thanks, Sarena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is truly a very interesting and delicious recipe that you can have so much fun playing around with to make it your own. I'm the queen of seasonings and I felt this dish needed a few to pick up the flavors. Secondly, I used ricotta instead of the cottage cheese only because it's smoother in texture. Instead of layering, I made lasagna roll ups and topped it off with a cheesey white sauce and some buttered bread crumbs. Santa may not be good to me this year because like Caroline, I also sauteed my onions in the bacon grease. This dish may not be waist friendly, but it's the HOLIDAY'S and who gives a flying leap? Give this a try, we've got less than a month to start eating healthy again. Thanks Sarena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This was so delicious! It tasted just like a real perogee. I used instant potatoes instead of roasted to cut down the time and it still turned out amazing... I shudder to think how fattening this was, but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH MACDONALD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
If my rating was based on taste alone, this would have gotten 5 stars. It tasted just like pierogis. I did like a few people have suggested and used one big red onion that I sauteed in the bacon grease for the top, but other than that did not stray from the recipe. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was the amount of work involved. This is NOT a meal for a busy weeknight. I spent the entire hour that the potatoes were roasting doing all of the other necessary prep work and then when the potatoes were done, I STILL had another half hour's worth of work to do, with the scooping out the potatoes and the assembly of the finished casserole. By the time the whole thing was done, I was so tired, I wasn't even hungry anymore. I might make this again, but it'll have to wait for a day when I'm not just getting off of a double shift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This is a great basic recipe, because it leaves so much room for modifications! I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese, I also just boiled and mashed my taters instead of roasting them. Cut the bacon up and crumbled it on top as opposed to layering strips across the top. I fried one red onion in butter for the top...then when it came out of the oven I scattered chopped green onions on top and drizzled sour cream on top. To me green onions and sour cream go hand in hand with perogies and bacon. The whole family loved it, even the kids wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I love perogies and this recipie was even better than the ones at the store! It was quick and easy and very tasty. I made it for me and my bf, so I scaled it down to a 8X8 pan and we ate the whole thing. I only had canned mushrooms though, so I omitted them, but next time I will be sure to have potabellas! Awesome recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Way too much work but it was good. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Beers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelayres, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Are we rating on taste alone??? Or taste with along such things as preparation. As far as taste it deserves 10 stars, but the preparation stinks. Way too much time with the potatoes and I don't feel it's necessary. I was going to use instant mashed pototoes when I first read this recipe for convenience, but I forgot and had already started. (Maybe wanted to give the author benefit of the doubt *shrugs*) But anways, I will definitely make this again but ONLY with mashed potatoes, either instant or homemade. This is not a fancy dish which should require so much work! 10 stars for taste though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States