Peri Peri African Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very flavorful. Not nearly as spicy-hot as the ingredients might seem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I've tried this recipe and followed everything to the exact instruction. First of all, if you are looking for a Piri Piri recipe that resembles anything like Nando's, you will be disappointed. Secondly, this recipe is lacking a few more ingredients to make it more in-depth and complete. The paprika is extremely overpowering, practically the star of the show, which shouldn't be, for an authentic piri piri experience. There is also way too much lemon juice as well, to the point, it screams sour. This recipe has the base for a potential great piri piri marinade, but is currently very lacking. Hence I only gave this recipe two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Sold out 30 orders at TWC good reviews. thought i would have left overs so i put a pita on with the chicken lett. tom. and tzatikisauce with garlic as suggested. saved the marinade and just used chicken strip meat . good reviews too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was so much better the second day on a salad. I thought this would be so flavorful. We could not taste the flavors the same day I made it even though it sat in the marinade for 24 hours. I had leftovers and man o man it was so yummy cold on a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Delicious! I baked in the oven at 375 for 40 minutes as it was too chilly to grill outside. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts that I should have pounded flat, but didn't. :) I ran a little short of lemon juice so I didn't feel I had enough sauce on my chicken, so next time I'm probably going to make double sauce if I use boneless, skinless breasts again. This was wonderfully tasty and reminded me of naked hot wings in a way, but so much better. The ginger and garlic give it a great flavor. You definitely need to appreciate spicy food to like this one! I served with oven roasted asparagus. Next time I think I'll try baking zucchini/squash, maybe in the same pan. Also, I'm going to pound out my chicken breasts or slice them into strips so the sauce really gets appreciated. Definitely a keeper for me and I can't wait to cook it for my fiance and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anhnguyen81
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I added 1/2 teaspoon cumin powder and 1/2 cup olive oil, the chicken turns out very shiny. My husband love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
i really enjoyed this! the only change i would make is i think next time i'll marinade the chicken overnight - let all the flavours really seep in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Wow. I just wasted good chicken on this recipe. I'm sorry but I don't understand how anyone can eat this. It has too much lemon juice and paprika. I usually LOVE spicy food and African chicken, but this one was way too sour and papriky. Never again. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I first tasted this dish at Springboks, a local South African retaurant, & went wild. This recipe duplicated the seasoning perfectly! For those whose palates prefer less fire, cut the chili powder to half the amount & serve over cous-cous or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaMaBuA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
What a moist chicken this made! I used boneless skinless and had to used powdered ginger, but this turned out better than I expected. I marinated for 24 hours in the fridge. Very fragrant and great presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States