Perfumed Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
The icing is terrible! Way too sugary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Izza1
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
My mother in law wanted me to make her a coconut cake with sugar free Pillsbury yellow cake mix. Was so happy to find this recipe. It was a hit. I did make a few changes. I used my own recipe for coconut buttercream. I torted my cake and filled it with the buttercream and unsweetened coconut. Did not use any pecans. It was so delish and the coconut flavor was on point. Thanks!=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izza1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was not a BAD cake..just was not very "Coconutty". As another reviewer, I did NOT achieve any coconut aroma...it scaresly tasted like coconut. Cake was moist and tasty..but lacked any real coconut flavor. Also, I should have read all the reviews (or at least paid heed to the ones I did read) that the frosting was horribly sweet. I frosted between the layers with a chocolate frosting to break up the icky sweetness. I will not be making this cake again. Less than impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Meta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Followed the recipe as written. Cake is AWESOME! The icing however, although good, is so sweat it is almost painful! Will make the cake again but will use a different icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I've made this cake once before and everyone loved it. I'm making it for my husband birthday. I'm not a big fan of coconut, but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ba3shagk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danese, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is excellent! You would never guess it came from a cake mix--I used a French Vanilla cake mix. Between the layers I used the blueberry sauce and coconut cream cheese frosting--both from this site. I can see it with strawberry and many other possibilities! Thanks so much for sharing this outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I can't believe the rave reviews I get for this cake. You have to try it to believe it. I add a little less sugar to the frosting (about 6 cups) but that is all the change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I found this recipe the week of mother's day....my mom's favorite is coconut cake. Recipe is super easy. It was gone in one sitting and everyone LOVED it! Since then I've had to make it 4 times! For memorial day, I colored coconut red and blue and added in plain coconut. Everyone is exited about this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cadensmommy05

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mitchell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I'm rating for the cake part only as well - I wasn't able to follow directions exactly as I was rushing to use up some coconut milk, but the end result was so good, I simply had to thank you for recipe. I didn't have coconut pudding, so used French Vanilla, nor did I have the coconut extract (omitted). I added 1/2 c of coconut as others mentioned - deliciously moist! Baked in bundt pan apx 50" and will probably serve tonight with fresh berries, bananas, and whipped cream and garnish with toasted coconut. Note to others, I panicked after seeing calorie count and ran a quick check on a program I have - the frosting itself (using 10 person guide which I think is quite high - 16 more like it) has 532 calories pp. Omitting it would drop your calorie count for a huge slice to around 425 +/-. Cut by a third and you're down to around 300
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States