Perfumed Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
WOW. I think I died and went to heaven. After a dry run last week, I made this cake again with a couple of small changes, which I think improved it, even though it is an AWESOME cake just as it is. First, I added 1/2 cup of shredded coconut to the batter, and the biggest and the best change was that I made a cream cheese frosting, adding the coconut extract. I always slightly underbake my cakes and I suggest you do the same...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
don't know what i did wrong, but this cake did not impress me. i bake for a living and was not happy with recipe. followed recipe did not experience the coconut aroma mentioned and cake was not real moist as promised. icing called for 7 cups of sugar, i used 5 and that was plenty..was still very sweet. will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
A friend and I made this for a Hawaiian party and it was fantastic. You can cut the icing recipe in half, though, if you don't like thick frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I am a coconut-aholic, but this was just too sweet for me. The cake part was moist and good, but would be better with an icing that's toned down a bit. Very pretty, but just way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I am a coconut fanatic and try a new coconut recipe every week. This is by far the best coconut cake I have ever made or tasted. It got rave reviews and recipe request with our small group Bible study last night. The frosting recipe definately make too much. So I used my leftovers on a second cake a week later. I bulked it up with a little more coco milk and powdered sugar. Stored it in the fridge while cake cooled. I whipped it up with the beaters again when I went to frost my cake. Everything seemed fine, but as I was frosting, it started melting and sort of turned into a big mess. Not sure what happened there, but still delicious and no complaints! I will make this recipe over and over! Oh, I couldn't find "instant" coconut cream pudding in our store, so I used the "cook and serve" variety in the recipe the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Okay..I loved everything about this cake! The icing on the other hand..was not so crazy about! It didn't seem to pair well with the cake and I wish I hadn't added it to the cake after all was said and done. It was too sweet and I wasn't crazy about the texture or taste. I would DEFINITELY make the cake again but I will look for another icing recipe to use in place of the one listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made this cake on Sunday morning and it truly does smell divine! The cake is easy to whip up although I did have to use regular coconut pudding mix as I could not find any of the instant kind. The cakes were VERY moist, so much so that I cracked one taking it out of the pan. I will know better next time. One other thing that I did was make less frosting. I used about 1/4 cup of butter, 1/4 cup coconut milk, 1/2 tsp coconut extract and 2 cups icing sugar and there was just enough frosting to cover the cake. Everyone who tries this cake, loves it! Not to mention, it is very light tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peculiah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I made this cake for work. It is a wonderful cake with coconut flavor bursting throughout. All of my co-workers raved about it. I am going to make one for home now, but I am going to soak the left over coconut milk into the bread like my mom always did on her coconut cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This has alot of flavor and is very rich. Everybody has to have some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Followed this recipe almost exact, except I couldn't find a cake mix without pudding already in. I put a box of pudding mix in anyways, and this cake turned out so moist! I didn't have any coconut extract, but wasn't looking for a super strong coconut cake. I also added a little sweetened flake coconut to the batter. I checked my box mix baking time, and it was only about 25 minutes, so I undercooked by a few minutes. I could have taken it out even earlier, but it was fine. I used the party cake topping recipe from this site, but substituted coconut cream pudding mix and coconut milk. YUMMY! This cake was inhaled by my coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalyana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States