Perfectly Moist Irish Wheaten Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Best bread ever! When this came out off the oven, I ignored the part about waiting for it to cool down. The crust is crispy and thick and the inside is moist and delicious. The bread is crubly, and the bottom is very hard, but sooo good! I only used 2 Tbsp of butter, and after reducing the temperature baked for 20 minutes. It came out a perfect, golden brown. *Update: I accidentally forgot the 3/4 c. whole wheat flour! I also put in slightly less than 1/4 c. oil, and still only 2 Tbsp. butter. However, the bread was still perfect and moist! I had to put it in a round cake pan because the dough was more like a batter. I did cook it for less time-about 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BelfastJimmy
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe! As a native Belfast man I can recommend this as perfect Wheaten bread. Texture and consistency just right! Didn't quite see the point of brushing with buttermilk or sprinkling with sugar prior to baking but it did no harm anyway. There is absolutely no need to bake this within a pan and certainly this is something I have never heard of or come across before! I formed the cake round onto a lightly floured Pizza baking stone. Again, cutting the pre-baked bread with a finger is new to me and does not quite give the quartered effect achievable by knife. Just make sure to cut no more than 1/3 to 1/2 way through to give the splendid quartering or 'flowering' effect desired on all wheaten or soda breads. I used Olive Oil in lieu of vegetable and butter instead of margarine. Buttermilk is not usually in one's pantry so you can add a small amount of vinegar or lemon juice to regular milk to substitute for buttermilk. Dry mix can be purchased. The mixture stays easily on a pizza stone for baking. This ensures the bread 'free-forms' as it should without using a spray buttered pan. I have uploaded two photos. Photo #7 shows the consistency of the pre-baked bread and #8 shows the finished product. Serve with Irish smoked salmon. UPDATE: 17th Mar 2011 I deleted some info to include this... Reviewers have mentioned the bread as being "too crumbly". Today I added 1 egg to the mixture and found it to be "tighter". See Photo #10 for the texture after egg addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
this bread is really good. i made it this last thanksgiving and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Have made this 4 times and every time it is perfect. A lovely recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Being from Northern Ireland but living in the States, this bread turned out perfect, perfect reminder of home! By mistake I left out the oil and the bread turned out just fine....will become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Fastastic, amazing, delicious, etc, etc, etc!!! This recipe is genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was a great Bread. I made this tonight for a small gathering of 4 Adults and I only have 5 pieces left. The bread got Rave reviews it was the first thing anyone ate at the gathering. I served the bread with Honey butter and I decided not to brush the additional buttermilk and Sugar on top as I was looking for a Savory Bread. Thank you for the great Recipe this one is a keeper. I will add that my dough was very sticky and moist when I turned it out onto the floured surface and I was not able to kneed the bread, without having my hands covered in the dough. But none the less I tossed it on my stoneware pan and baked and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This recipe is definitely a keeper! Like some reviewers suggested, I only used 2 Tbsp butter and I reduced to oil to 1/8 cup. I brushed the top of the bread with the buttermilk but I did not sprinkle it with sugar. The bread turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very very happy with the results. It came out perfect just like the submitter said it would. This bread has a wonderful hearty texture and natural nuttyness from the whole wheat. As suggested by another reviewer I used only 2 T. butter and 1/8 c. oil also only 1 tsp. salt and no sugar with outstanding results. It smelled amazing while it baked and tasted delicious after it cooled a bit and the next day toasted. This recipe is a winner! ** Update ** I have made this bread more times than any other recipe on this site. I have added varying combinations of seeds, nuts, and dried fruits (be creative) mix seeds, nuts, and/or dried fruits into the dry ingredients. This recipe is adaptable as long as you stay with the original amounts of flours, b. soda and buttermilk. This recipe deserves more than 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Just not something that we would make again. None of the family was really crazy about it. It was fun to try once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DDRay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States