Perfectly Moist Irish Wheaten Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This bread was very easy (and fast) to make and the result is excellent! I baked the bread on a cookie sheet and had no trouble with the dough keeping it's shape. The bread is very moist, but not doughy or too dense. The sprinkling of sugar on top gives it a nice hint of sweetness. This bread is great with jam! I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Very good, moist bread. Its like a giant whole wheat biscuit or whole wheat irish soda bread. I really liked the effect of the buttermilk brushed on the crust before baking and the sugar sprinkles. It makes almost a glaze on it and adds just a touch of sweetness, but not too much. Great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rose
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I was excited to try this recipe to go along with the Irish Beef stew. It was very easy to make and the flavor is incredible. If you aren't a breadmaker (like me) but want to try your hand, pick this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Unlike my usual M.O. I followed the recipe and it was delightfully easy and yummy. Went great with our corned beef supper. I think it would be fun to experiment with it next time by adding some savory additions or dried fruit, 'though it holds up very well as is. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I didn't know what this was before making it. I was pleasantly surprised with the result! It is moist, dense, with a very wheat-y taste. Such a great alternative to cornbread! The dough was easy to work with. We had it with Michelle's Blonde Chicken Chili (from this site) and it was a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This is exactly the bread I loved while visiting Ireland. Our group of four lived on cheese and brown bread from Jack's in Killorglin, County Kerry and were disappointed not to be able to bring extra home. Now I can make it myself -- despite the fact that I have always been a total failure at bread baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
A very easy recipe. It's only fault was that maybe it was a little too crumbly - making it difficult to butter. Still, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I had some left over buttermilk from a different recipe I wanted to use up and decided to try this recipe. It is fantastic!! I added 1 1/4 cup of raisins as well baked it in a loaf pan rather than a round pan and it turned out excellent!! I have made a few trips to the store specially to by buttermilk now for this recipe...it has not failed me yet!! It is a must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I had never eaten or tried making bread like this before so I made this exactly as written and boy am I glad that I did. It was wonderful. I did use fat free buttermilk. It is a little sticky when you do the kneeding so I guess that's why you don't do too much of that? Just had to add a little flour to my hands and sprinkle on it when kneeding. Thank you for such a great and healthy recipe. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
The bread is gone in a very short time, with my family of 5! I used white whole wheat flour and powdered buttermilk. I also substituted butter for margarine. I think that if it were baked on the paper, it might not have burned on the bottom. It was very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States