Perfectly Moist Irish Wheaten Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by txvtchick
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I was very happy with how this recipe turned out and will definitely make it again. I had never heard of wheaten and was a bit concerned by the lack of yeast or rising time in the recipe. I did an internet search and found out that in wheaten (aka brown Irish soda bread), the buttermilk and baking soda cause the bread to rise during baking. The bread doubled in size during baking and had the consistency of cornbread; in fact, we had it with chili and it was excellent. It would be great with any meal that you'd typically have bread as an accompaniment. The dough was sticky and did not lend itself well to being free formed on a flat pan. I used the bottom of a ceramic tortilla warmer as a pan. A round cake pan would probably work well, too. I used 2 TB butter instead of 1/4 cup margarine, reduced the oil to 1/8th of a cup, and used low fat buttermilk. The bread was still very moist and did not feel or taste "low-fat". I also did not sprinkle sugar on top before baking as I wanted a more savory bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txvtchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This bread was very easy (and fast) to make and the result is excellent! I baked the bread on a cookie sheet and had no trouble with the dough keeping it's shape. The bread is very moist, but not doughy or too dense. The sprinkling of sugar on top gives it a nice hint of sweetness. This bread is great with jam! I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I didn't know what this was before making it. I was pleasantly surprised with the result! It is moist, dense, with a very wheat-y taste. Such a great alternative to cornbread! The dough was easy to work with. We had it with Michelle's Blonde Chicken Chili (from this site) and it was a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This is exactly the bread I loved while visiting Ireland. Our group of four lived on cheese and brown bread from Jack's in Killorglin, County Kerry and were disappointed not to be able to bring extra home. Now I can make it myself -- despite the fact that I have always been a total failure at bread baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
A very easy recipe. It's only fault was that maybe it was a little too crumbly - making it difficult to butter. Still, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Very good, moist bread. Its like a giant whole wheat biscuit or whole wheat irish soda bread. I really liked the effect of the buttermilk brushed on the crust before baking and the sugar sprinkles. It makes almost a glaze on it and adds just a touch of sweetness, but not too much. Great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Easy and quick recipe, tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Yummy! Not dry like soda bread so often is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elk Mound, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shell Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
tried this recipe for the first time yesterday and it worked out perfectly! so quick and easy, and got just the bread i was hoping for. only one comment - i needed to add a little more flour than the recipe gave, as the dough was initially a bit on the sticky side, but that might have been my scales. will definitely bake this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is a very tasty bread and simple to make. Like one of the other reviewers, I used my Kitchenaid stand up mixer (my Christmas present this year!) and it only took about 10 minutes, plus kneeding time. I rated 4 stars only because it was SO dense, that I can barely finish a whole slice at once. I do like the wheaty flavor and the slight sweetness of the crust. My husband however, who is the real bread lover in the house, only thought it was so so. (He's also a picky eater)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States