Perfectly Moist Irish Wheaten Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very easy. A bit crumbly, but maybe it's supposed to be. I've never had wheaten bread before. I was trying to find a final recipe to use up the last of my sour milk, and this fit the bill. The dough was quite sticky, almost like a scone batter, but I didn't add any more flour. For all I know that's how it's supposed to be. this was good warm with butter. I served with Sausage Pasta from here and it was a hit. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I read the reviews and thought YES! And that was an understatement - wonderful flavor and moist bread. Thank you for creating. Will be one of my regulars. Bill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I found this recipe to be very bland. The crust was flavorful, but the the bread itself had barely any flavor. It might be good to add some cinammon or other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I made a loaf of this bread and I must say that it is delicious. Whole wheat is a little hard to get used to at first, but I loved this one and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was great! I followed the recipe as written and baked it in a loaf pan (I like being able to cut off slices and pop them in the toaster)! :) It was very easy to make, and the texture is wonderful. So dense but still very moist, and the crust is fantastic. As soon as this had mostly cooled I cut a piece put some Smart Balance on it and a couple slices of extra sharp cheddar and I was a happy camper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
My husband is also from Northern Ireland and your wheaten bread recipe wins his approval and mine! The bread looked so gorgeous when it came out of the oven, it was a shame to cut into it! And to all who have never tried wheaten bread, this recipe gives the authentic taste and texture! Please try it toasted as well to bring out the nutty flavor of the wheat! On my first trip to Belfast to meet the in-laws, I was given the family's recipe for wheaten bread and the bowl that the flour was measured in. I haven't made wheaten bread in some time and thought I'd give your recipe (which is different from mine) a try. It is Wonderful! One tip: whenever I have to cut in butter or margarine into flour, I grate the margarine/butter over the flour. The smaller pieces are easier to cut in and it takes less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
My family loved this bread! I wish I would have had a better pan to cook it in though. It burned a bit on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
It's good, but a bit too salty. I would reduce the dose of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Holy Cow! I had to make 4 more batches to put in the freezer for later! My family RAVED over this bread! I havent found a whole wheat bread they liked till now! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I was looking for a quick bread that did not use baking powder, as I did not have any, and used only a little of baking soda, since the taste is so overpowering. This bread was perfect for even making drop biscuits! I subbed milk for buttermilk without any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States