Perfect White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Fantasiakal
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
just made three loaves of this bread I had to have a meltdown in the middle of baking because my mother in law was supposed to show me this year how to make her bread but she died on me so and after all that it turned out great took about 5 minutes less cooking time but turned out fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fantasiakal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very simple, basic bread. I didn't bake it at 400 degrees--perhaps that works with the recipe submitter's oven, but after years of experimentation, I've learned that baking bread in my oven turns out well between 350-375 degrees. I did this bread on 350 since hubs is weird about crunchy crust for breads. Turned out perfectly well. I had slightly less than 2 cups of milk, so I added the remainder in water. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Very tasty bread ...Very easy to make...turned out perfect, golden brown & delicious ;-) i halved the recipe to see if i liked it....i would recommend making both loaves , u will not regret it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trigun666

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is the easiest, best bread I ever made. With the price of a loaf of bread at over $3.00 in Ottawa (Canada) and it does not taste like it used to; I started making my own bread. I will be using this recipe over and over again. Excellent texture, does not crumble when cut and tastes fantastic. Thank you for posting is recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
home made bread is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Phenomenal! Thought my greatgrandmother was in the kitchen .She passed on 50 yrs ago at 96 yrs.Never read a recipe,everything from memory.This is exactly her recipe.My older aunts confirm this.Thank you for bringing back those missing years! This is the real mc coy! -grandma c of illinois
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I couldn't get all 6 cups of flour in. By 2.5 cups it was beyond stiff. The next cup of flour just made dry crumbles that wouldn't join the dry wad of dough. (I omitted the remainder of the flour.) Kneading couldn't incorporate the dry lumps into the main lump. I'm attempting to make it rise now, but I am not hopeful. This must be a recipe for seasoned bakers/cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is my first attempt at making homemade bread so I really have nothing to compare against. But, I followed the recipe as stated except for baking temp. I used a lower temp and am glad I did - it turned out quite well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This is essentially the recipe my mom always made when I was small, and the one I've gone back to after trying a half dozen others. Nothing else comes close! The slight tweaks I've made are as follows: I always proof the yeast first in the warm water by adding a generous pinch of sugar and letting it sit for 10 minutes. Seems to get a better result - maybe it wakes the yeast up? Secondly, instead of shortening I use melted and cooled butter. Finally, I mix in five cups of flour to the dough, then mix the final cup in during the kneading process (the dough will start out fairly sticky). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I must say...one of the best recipes for white bread I have come across, and YUM! Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Pieske

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States