Perfect White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Highly recommend this recipe. When making the dough, please do as instructed and let your fingers let you know how much flour to add--when we first made it, we just measured 6 cups of flour--it yielded a very dense loaf that way. However, if you start with the two cups of flour and keep adding until you have that "moderately firm" dough, you will get a perfect loaf of bread that will rise beautifully and taste even better! We make this bread at least once every two weeks when we run out of store-bought bread, and I am thinking of making it weekly--store-bought bread just isn't this good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This is essentially the recipe my mom always made when I was small, and the one I've gone back to after trying a half dozen others. Nothing else comes close! The slight tweaks I've made are as follows: I always proof the yeast first in the warm water by adding a generous pinch of sugar and letting it sit for 10 minutes. Seems to get a better result - maybe it wakes the yeast up? Secondly, instead of shortening I use melted and cooled butter. Finally, I mix in five cups of flour to the dough, then mix the final cup in during the kneading process (the dough will start out fairly sticky). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
No exagerration- this is the BEST bread I've ever had in my life. It beats the loaves I had in a San Francisco bakery. It is also easily the best bread I've made. I can't believe it came from my own hands. I have been making bread for 8 years and no mix, nor scratch recipe ever equalled this. It is unbelievable. I gave up my bread machine last year and am thrilled, thrilled with this recipe. Nothing that I have tried has turned out half as good as this. The texture is light, yet moist. Note that I did let it rise quite a bit longer before baking (I went shopping) probably 2 hours. Also, in light of previous review I let the loaves rise in the oven, so I started the oven with them in there at 400 (no pre-heat). I baked it for 40 minutes (again, no pre-heat). Oh, wow, I don't even know what to say. Thank you, Donna. Your recipe is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
THIS RECIPE IN MY OPINION SHOULD BE COOKED AT A LOWER TEMP. OR FOR LESS TIME AT 400 DEGREES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Simply amazing! I cooked the loafs for 35 minutes at 375 degrees. The recipe doesn't need to be changed at all, perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Unlike some of the other white bread recipies I have found, this one was fantastic. I found that by cutting the temprature to 375 and time down to 25 mins, the bread came out perfectly. And it was a fun way to spend my afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Very good, nice light loaves. This was one of the best recipes I've made. I've been baking bread 10 + years now and this is almost the perfect white bread. It is wonderful. My kids and hubby love it so much I'm lucky if I get any. I followed the recipe exactly and only changed the oven temp to 375 and cooked about 5-10 minutes longer. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This bread is delicious. Tastes a lot like french bread. I halve the ingredients and use it in my bread maker. I even made it using the timer. To do this, I used dehydrated milk and put the ingredients in order so the dehydrated milk wouldn't touch the water until the mixing began. (Same thing with yeast).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
There's only one problem with this bread I can't stop eating it ! Great recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I am 54 years old, have made my own bread for over 30 years; very few times could I eat my breads like the store bought bread, either too dry, or too chewy, or too crumbly. I made this recipe and used a preheated 375 degree oven, I pulled it out when the internal temperature was 210 degrees, let it cool overnight, thin sliced it and made toast for breakfast. Like the name says, it was perfect. All other white bread recipes are now in the trash! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States