Perfect White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Very good, nice light loaves. This was one of the best recipes I've made. I've been baking bread 10 + years now and this is almost the perfect white bread. It is wonderful. My kids and hubby love it so much I'm lucky if I get any. I followed the recipe exactly and only changed the oven temp to 375 and cooked about 5-10 minutes longer. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This bread is delicious. Tastes a lot like french bread. I halve the ingredients and use it in my bread maker. I even made it using the timer. To do this, I used dehydrated milk and put the ingredients in order so the dehydrated milk wouldn't touch the water until the mixing began. (Same thing with yeast).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I found this recipe to be bland and disappointing. It is light and the crust is beautiful but it just has no great flavor to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menahga, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Partlow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This wasn't the best bread I've ever made. I couldn't find my regular recipe and decided to try this one. It was disappointing actually. I thought the crust was really tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Unlike some of the other white bread recipies I have found, this one was fantastic. I found that by cutting the temprature to 375 and time down to 25 mins, the bread came out perfectly. And it was a fun way to spend my afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
We just moved from Pennsylvania to southwest Virginia, and I found that our local market did not carry the flour that I always used. That flour had a white bread recipe that I always used and enjoyed, so I thought I was out of luck and decided to check out allrecipes. This recipe makes the most wonderful bread that I've ever made....moist, tender crumb, crisp crust, and it's easy to cut into slices. This will be the only recipe I use for white bread. It's delicious!! Thanks, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I halved the recipe and tossed everything in the food processor with the plastic dough blade. It turned out fabulous. Definitely will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This it's the best bread I have ever made. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quillota, Valparaíso, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Highly recommend this recipe. When making the dough, please do as instructed and let your fingers let you know how much flour to add--when we first made it, we just measured 6 cups of flour--it yielded a very dense loaf that way. However, if you start with the two cups of flour and keep adding until you have that "moderately firm" dough, you will get a perfect loaf of bread that will rise beautifully and taste even better! We make this bread at least once every two weeks when we run out of store-bought bread, and I am thinking of making it weekly--store-bought bread just isn't this good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Very good white bread. Very soft as others have said, and hardly any crumbs when cut. Made this to have with a chili supper and it was the best part of the meal. It also made wonderful toast the next morning. I doubled the recipe so I could send some home with my grown children. I will definately make this again. It's a keeper. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States