Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I tried this for the first time, the turkey was so good and juicy. Probably going to use this again next year. Happy Thanksgiving everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have done this turkey for four years now. The first year I followed the recipe to the letter, I had never cooked a turkey before! I now have to cook the turkey every year no matter who's house we are at. I don't think I will ever try another recipe. Always a huge hit with whoever tries it. This turkey is always super moist and has a great flavor. I only made a few simple changes to the recipe. I added two cloves of garlic in the bird and two outside, just gave them a quick smash with the knife and added them to the other veggies. I fill the bottom of the roasting pan with wine until it touches the bird, it ensures there is enough liquid to make lots and lots of gravy. Like others I use a oven bag for the brining and toss it in a cooler with lots of ice for at least a day. Turning over the bird seems a little sketchy at first but like another reviewer here said, just put plastic bags over the oven mitts and you will have no problems. Not sure why you are still reading this and not trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Loved it! I used dried thyme and didn't brine the turkey, but it was yummy and we'll def make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mooresville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This will be the 7th year I make this turkey. I don't use carrots as no one eats the veggie stuffing. i stuff the turkey as much as possible with spices, onions, and celery. I also pour the white wine over the turkey, not the veggies. I have always used white cooking wine, but this year I'll be trying a Sauvignon Blanc. I use a large stock pot with ice water for brine as I can't fit a turkey in water into my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
The Thanksgiving turkey has always been my hubby's job... Not this year! Not after reading this recipe & reviews...going to give it a whirl. Can't wait til tomorrow so I can get it started, will let you know how it turns out! Whoot! I'm so happy that the hubby agreed to it!! Sounds Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASorb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Last year I made this and it was a success. Some of my relatives do not like turkey due to the dryness. However, they thought it was very tasty. :) Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enjoylisu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I'm not sure why, but when I flipped the turkey ( which was very, very difficult to do), all the skin stuck. I have mad many, many turkeys that turn out great. I would suggest making this one WITHOUT flipping it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I'm not a fan of brining the bird... yes it is juicey, but it I think it loses significant flavor. Best to learn how to get the temperature and time just right and use some techniques that keep the juices locked in like keeping a terry cloth soaked in butter on the bird until towards the end for crisping skin. Do remember that you have to constantly soak the cloth in butter so it doesn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Excellent, best turkey ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garrison, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I've used this recipe every year four years and have not been disappointed yet! Here's to another perfect turkey year, Happy Thanksgiving everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbluv00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,018) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States