Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I just have to say this recipe was SUPERB! I will never cook a turkey another way from now on. I didn't have any kosher salt but had coarse sea salt which I used instead. I also added a couple more carrots and celery stalks since my turkey was bigger. I brushed the entire turkey with butter first instead of doing the breast after flipping. It came out amazingly moist and browned up nicely. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful method for cooking a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raych04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Worked for me :-). Trader Joe's sells a brined turkey. May outsource that step next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Was the best turkey I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This made a very good turkey, but I thought the vegetables were a little pointless. The veggies inside the carcass were too crunchy, and the veggies in the pan were overcooked and SALTY. I loved the flavor and aroma of the wine though! The drippings were a very nice addition to the gravy. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devon Baumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The bird was good. It was a crowd pleaser. But the gravy was heavenly. Best gravy ever! 5 stars for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was my first year making Thanksgiving dinner and I'd never even touched a turkey. So glad I tried this recipe. It was the best turkey I have ever tried. So must, even the left overs are most and it's Monday after Thanksgiving. Don't be afraid to use the amount of salt listed. I used a 8.75 lb. Turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I like it, but it just needed a little more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This recipe is genius to cook the turkey upside down! I used this recipe to cook my very first turkey and it turned out so moist and delicious, the family loved it! Now, I used the other recipe on there 'Turkey Brine' for my brine, soaked it for 2 days in a cooler. Then overall followed this recipe. I didn't stuff anything inside the turkey after ready how you shouldn't eat it, but put the veggies and wine around the turkey. The gravy was so declicious as well! The leftovers stayed so tasty and juicy. I do recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Stop looking for a turkey recipe - this is it! I've made this a 2nd time for Thanksgiving and ijt was even better 2nd time. Here are some hints. Rinse the turkey...a lot! 1st year I thought I did and had salty gravy that even cut up potatoes couldn't completely rescue. This year I spent 5 minutes rinsing off turkey - especially the inside and it was perfect. I also threw in 1 sliced potato in with the veggies at the bottom so that may have helped too (and those potato slices tasted heavenly). ONE important NOTE, this has not yielded much gravy for me. My guess is that the vegetables soak up a lot of the juice. Luckily I had a jar of gravy to add to the homemade. Also after letting the turkey set out before carving, had more juice that I quickly added to the gravy. 1st Time Notes: Hooray! This was a big hit. It was easy to do - except storing the turkey in the brine. I finally resorted to an oven bag to put the turkey & brine in and then placed all of that in a clean bucket. My gravy was salty and I tried to save it with a potato which helped. Still, not a big problem - I just warned everyone not to salt anything. The turkey was very moist!. I followed recipe exactly except I added some 1/2 cup of chicken broth I had left over that I didn't just want to throw out. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used this recipe to make my very FIRST turkey this past Thanksgiving. It turned out excellent! I used a pre-brined turkey so I skipped the first few steps. Heavy poured on the wine and used extra FRESH thyme. I wish I could bottle the fragrance this turkey filled our house with! And the turkey turned out perfectly browned and juicy. Stellar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,081) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States