Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This will be the 7th year I make this turkey. I don't use carrots as no one eats the veggie stuffing. i stuff the turkey as much as possible with spices, onions, and celery. I also pour the white wine over the turkey, not the veggies. I have always used white cooking wine, but this year I'll be trying a Sauvignon Blanc. I use a large stock pot with ice water for brine as I can't fit a turkey in water into my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
The Thanksgiving turkey has always been my hubby's job... Not this year! Not after reading this recipe & reviews...going to give it a whirl. Can't wait til tomorrow so I can get it started, will let you know how it turns out! Whoot! I'm so happy that the hubby agreed to it!! Sounds Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASorb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Last year I made this and it was a success. Some of my relatives do not like turkey due to the dryness. However, they thought it was very tasty. :) Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enjoylisu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I'm not sure why, but when I flipped the turkey ( which was very, very difficult to do), all the skin stuck. I have mad many, many turkeys that turn out great. I would suggest making this one WITHOUT flipping it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I'm not a fan of brining the bird... yes it is juicey, but it I think it loses significant flavor. Best to learn how to get the temperature and time just right and use some techniques that keep the juices locked in like keeping a terry cloth soaked in butter on the bird until towards the end for crisping skin. Do remember that you have to constantly soak the cloth in butter so it doesn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Excellent, best turkey ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garrison, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I've used this recipe every year four years and have not been disappointed yet! Here's to another perfect turkey year, Happy Thanksgiving everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbluv00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have been stuffing my turkey with vegetables and fruits for years. Try lemons, apples, onions and the spices you like. Turn the turkey so the breast is down not up, it will be a moist turkey breast not dry. The stuffing is always better in its own dish, doesn't turn out so mushy like when you put stuffing in turkey. Don't forget to season the outside and inside of the turkey also. Happy Thanksgiving !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We made this turkey last year for Thanksgiving, it is, hands down, the best turkey I've ever eaten. We add the veggies to the stuffing and have great stuffing too. We've made this turkey several more times and use whatever wine we have on hand; it's always great. Each time we make this recipe we add more veggies and find more uses for them, flavor soup, rice, etc. One note, be sure to rinse the turkey well after brining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
IT'S A KEEPER! I used this recipe in my first solo turkey attempt. In contrast to how I imagined turkey prep to go, this was easy-- these directions are very straight-forward. And the turkey was DELICIOUS! I was very heavy on the wine (I poured until I saw it all over the bottom of my pan), and although this probably sabotaged my gravy-making attempts, I think it made for a really juicy turkey (my nibbling toddler dropped a small piece on a table cloth, which then showed a wet spot where the turkey fell). For other first-timers like me, be sure to plan ahead! If you want to thaw your turkey in the fridge (easier than using water), be sure to throw it in the refrigerator about a week in advance. I bought some turkey bags for the brining, since I don't have a huge stock pot. I still ended up double-bagging it in a garbage bag, just to be on the safe side. Also, I used two folded (clean) kitchen washcloths to flip the turkey onto its back, and flipped it lengthwise, since I had no tools substantial enough to assist me with such a weight, and the lenghthwise roll proved a little more manageable. Oh, and if you don't have a roasting pan or rack, you can use a large baking pan (I used a glass one) and rest the turkey on uncut carrots and celery to keep it from sitting directly on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,034) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States