Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I'm not a fan of brining the bird... yes it is juicey, but it I think it loses significant flavor. Best to learn how to get the temperature and time just right and use some techniques that keep the juices locked in like keeping a terry cloth soaked in butter on the bird until towards the end for crisping skin. Do remember that you have to constantly soak the cloth in butter so it doesn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Excellent, best turkey ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garrison, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I've used this recipe every year four years and have not been disappointed yet! Here's to another perfect turkey year, Happy Thanksgiving everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbluv00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have been stuffing my turkey with vegetables and fruits for years. Try lemons, apples, onions and the spices you like. Turn the turkey so the breast is down not up, it will be a moist turkey breast not dry. The stuffing is always better in its own dish, doesn't turn out so mushy like when you put stuffing in turkey. Don't forget to season the outside and inside of the turkey also. Happy Thanksgiving !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We made this turkey last year for Thanksgiving, it is, hands down, the best turkey I've ever eaten. We add the veggies to the stuffing and have great stuffing too. We've made this turkey several more times and use whatever wine we have on hand; it's always great. Each time we make this recipe we add more veggies and find more uses for them, flavor soup, rice, etc. One note, be sure to rinse the turkey well after brining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
IT'S A KEEPER! I used this recipe in my first solo turkey attempt. In contrast to how I imagined turkey prep to go, this was easy-- these directions are very straight-forward. And the turkey was DELICIOUS! I was very heavy on the wine (I poured until I saw it all over the bottom of my pan), and although this probably sabotaged my gravy-making attempts, I think it made for a really juicy turkey (my nibbling toddler dropped a small piece on a table cloth, which then showed a wet spot where the turkey fell). For other first-timers like me, be sure to plan ahead! If you want to thaw your turkey in the fridge (easier than using water), be sure to throw it in the refrigerator about a week in advance. I bought some turkey bags for the brining, since I don't have a huge stock pot. I still ended up double-bagging it in a garbage bag, just to be on the safe side. Also, I used two folded (clean) kitchen washcloths to flip the turkey onto its back, and flipped it lengthwise, since I had no tools substantial enough to assist me with such a weight, and the lenghthwise roll proved a little more manageable. Oh, and if you don't have a roasting pan or rack, you can use a large baking pan (I used a glass one) and rest the turkey on uncut carrots and celery to keep it from sitting directly on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This was the, best turkey we have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly. I could hardly wait for the leftovers the next day. I brined my turkey in a cooler (in an oven bag) overnight because our refrigerator was so full. You definitely need help to flip over the turkey, so be sure to have an extra set of hands ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
the brine is grreat! makes the turkey so moist. i just followed the brine and baking directions minus the veggies. no turkey was left over last thanksgivong and i'm sure it will be the same this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I make my turkey using this recipe every time. It is perfect! Juicy and easy instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blaze1974

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly and it came out too salty. The next time, I used only 1 cup of salt and allowed turkey to soak for about 1 hour in the sink. I also injected with my own seasoning and put in the fridge overnight. Followed the rest of the recipe and exactly and got a really great and juicy turkey. Thanks for posting. Forgot to mention it, but the drippings from the turkey into the pan and flavors from all the veggies and wine helped to make the best gravy I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,021) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States