Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very tasty. I brined the turkey overnight, drained then let it dry in the fridge for a few hours. In addition to the herbs I added some fresh sage I had on hand. I used a sauvingnon blanc wine and the gravy was much better than the "made ahead turkey gravy" recipe from this site. Cooking time was 3.5-ish hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Photo by Manny T
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I used roasting ties to keep it from falling apart when turning it over. The recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I crushed a whole garlic and added it to the brine. So glad I did because it gave it even more flavor. This is how I will do it every time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Goodeats
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was nervous to host my husband's family for thanksgiving, and even more nervous to make a turkey for the first time. (Especially for a mother in law who is an amazing cook!). After dinner, I was informed that I made a terrible mistake, because I am now in charge of the turkey every year! Delicious! Fell right off the bone. I brined in an oven bag, paper towel dried the turkey and let it rest in the fridge a couple hours after rinsing to let the skin brown up. I used more veggies, and had surprising success flipping the bird(!) with oven mitts covered with ziplocks. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
pretty good! the best turkey i have ever made. i forgot to buy thyme so i used marjoram which worked out very well! i also added mushrooms and chopped garlic to the inside of my bird. make sure to soak the turkey in brine over night for maximum flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have used many techniques over the last 30 years, but this was by far the best. My family agreed who have had bagged, cheese clothed, etc. Only addition I made was to add oil to the basting butter. I also basted with the wonderful broth in the bottom of the roasting pan. I did add more wine when I turned her over as veggies were exposed. This was a 13 lb Butterball which had been brimed (according to the wrapper). I cooked for 3 1/2 hours, then let rest tented lightly with foil for 30 minutes. Now going to make turkey soup with the vegetable broth. Have about 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Mana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I used this recipe this year and my turkey was AMAZING. It was literally perfect.. I added a couple things like fresh sage, parsley, rosemary and a quarter of an apple to the cavity. I did not flip it, because presentation didn't matter. Juiciest turkey I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Everyone liked my turkey this year, however it was not as juicy as I expected it to be based on the other reviews. I followed the directions exactly, even flipping 2/3rds through. It was very good and I would make again, may try brining for 48 hours instead of 12 as Cooks Illustrated says that is the proper length for a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eshagirl005
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Turned out great! My in-laws came over and enjoyed every bite! I did substitute the wine for chicken stock and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
A wonderfully aromatic and succulent turkey. Made me feel like a culinary star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,075) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States