Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I added whole cloves of garlic to the veggies in the cavity. I minced garlic, added that to the butter and placed that under the skin. Tented the bird with aluminum foil to help retain moisture. After roasting, I pureed the remaining veggies, garlic, and spices (except the bayleaf) and created a gravy with turkey stock. Tasted amazing, no need for a thickener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dying_sun

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe was incredible....I used the recipe almost exactly I added a bit more seasoning to the brine ( boiling in a pot with water, then cooling the water then draining and put in brine water). My mom said that it was the best turkey she had ever eaten!! Great Recipe! This is the only recipe i will follow for Turkey from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Valdovinos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poca, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Used this recipe last thanksgiving. This is the FIRST thanksgiving where there were NO leftovers! Everyone kept going back for seconds and thirds! It was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanimaniac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Absolutely the best turkey I've ever had. And the vegetables were fantastic. I could have made a meal of just the vegetables they were so tasty. I used red wine as I had forgotten to buy white and it was still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is the first turkey I've ever made. I'll be looking for other recipes. No one ate the vegetables, and they didn't seem to bring much in the way of flavor. There are probably better recipes out there, despite the deceptively high rating on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acl1209

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The turkey itself tasted good. BUT, the skin was too crispy and in general this was alot more trouble than necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
so juicy!! wonderful flavor, and supper easy!! yummie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Turned out very flavorful and moist. My husband cooked it in an infared turkey fryer (no oil). I would do it again, but the whole submerging a huge turkey thing was difficult. We put it in a garbage bag, and put the whole thing in a cooler just in case it leaked. Seemed to work, but what a pain! _
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I had trouble with this recipe. I mean the turkey was good, but more effort than it was worth. Firstly, brining the turkey was too much effort. On thanksgiving I have NO extra space in my fridge to pre-soak a turkey so had to do it in a cooler with lots of ice. Also cooking the bird breast side down on a rack made a not-so pretty turkey. Finally, there was just not enough drippings to make a gravy. I really had to add a lot of liquid to make enough gravy to go around. I will be going back to the "Michigander" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,017) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States