Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by bbursey
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this recipe for my first time cooking a turkey and it was easy, idiot proof and DELISH! I did however, add some baby multi-colored potatoes to the pan with the left over veggies and everyone went crazy over them! I hosted my first thanksgiving and of course the one thing that you want to be the best, is the turkey. I had about 10ppl and made a 20lb turkey. I cooked it at the recipes 350 instead of the recommended 325 by 'Butterball' and turned it over after 3.5 hours, then cooked it for another 1.25 hours. When flipping it over, I could see the juices boiling under the skin....needless to say I was a bit excited. When it was done we let it sit for 20 min and carved it. It fell apart! (in a good way) It was tender, juicy, sweet for us sugar lovers but not too sweet for those with a salty preference. My mother-in-law even said it was delicious and she's not a fan of turkey. Needless to say, i WILL be making this again. Thank you, All Recipes! You made me look like a professional chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
it was my very first turkey and nobody could tell! very very juicy and no need to do a separate gravy! the only tricky thing was that when I turned it, I removed the skin by mistake so it wasn't the beautiful presentation you always see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Can't imagine ever doing a turkey any other way... it's absolutely perfect. We did tweak it a bit: inspired by Martha Stewart's instructions, we mixed up a paste of butter, sage, rosemary & thyme and spread this into the space between the skin and the breast meat. The gravy was very salty when I made it with 100% drippings, so I doubled the quantity by adding equal parts water and pan drippings. The meat was perfectly tender, nicely flavored, succulent and moist. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My turkey was perfect ! Everyone raved how moist the turkey came out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My turkey turned out perfectly. Deliciously moist. I forgot to pick up carrots at the store, but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was my first Thanksgiving making a turkey and this recipe was simple & delicious! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Very juicy. Keep in mind cooking the turkey breast side down means the legs cook first, so checking the thigh shows the proper temp half way through the cooking time. I flipped the turkey and waited for the plastic popper to pop. Will definitely use the recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maurith
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is a great Recipe! Never cooked a Turkey before, tried this and ended up with an awesome turkey for Thanksgiving! Meat was so full of flavor and juicy. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was awesome! It was very moist and flavorful with some slight modifications. An important tip on rinsing the bird before brining it: be sure to thoroughly remove the bladder (or whatever that organ is called on both sides of the backbone at the tail end) and all sinewy gunk from the cavity of the bird, I’ve never seen any recipe state such and whatever that organ is called, it will foul the taste of any cooked poultry. My main changes were with the brine. I didn’t rub the turkey with kosher salt but rather I made a brine out of 2 gallons water, 1 cup Kosher salt, 1/3 cup light brown sugar, 1 sprig fresh rosemary, 1 sprig fresh sage, 2 bay leafs, 1 medium onion with peel & cut into quarters and 3 bruised garlic cloves. I used a large brining bag, had the breast at the bottom of the bag, which is very important. I placed the sealed brining bag into a large heavy duty oval roasting pan then placed all of that into a cooler that was large enough to hold the pan, surrounded the pan in the cooler with 5 pounds of ice cubes and I brined the bird overnight with the lid on the cooler. You MUST thoroughly rinse the bird under cold running water before roasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Very pleased....definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,014) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States