Perfect Ten Baked Cod Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was an incredibly easy recipe, and the results were great. My husband, who doesn't usually like fish dishes thought it was really good. I did use Italian seasoned bread crumbs in place of the crackers, because I didn't have any crackers on hand, but they turned out fine. I would definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was super simple and delicious! LOVED the buttery crumb topping and the wine really gave this a nice flavor. I thought this could use a bit of salt, but that's my personal preference. I forgot to add the green onions, but I'll try to remember to do that next time (not that it needed it, IMO). I will def be making this one again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I knew I could trust this recipe because I prepare cod loins like this routinely with consistently excellent results. Cod is a mild, flaky white fish that is not expensive and is absolutely reliable in my experience (i.e., not fishy). Prepared this way it is tender, flaky and perfectly done, but obviously the cooking time will depend upon how thick your fish is. I have never added wine to the pan, however, and decided to give it a try. While I didn’t find it detracted from the dish, it didn’t add anything either – so I would say drink it instead. I used bread crumbs instead of “buttery round crackers,” as I generally don’t keep “buttery round crackers” (such as Ritz) on hand. I added enough melted butter to moisten the crumbs, along with fresh minced garlic, parsley and rosemary. (Yum) I gave the fish a little salt and pepper before topping with my seasoned bread crumbs, then popped it into the oven for 20 minutes. In other words, I skipped the two-step process directed in the recipe as I didn’t find it at all necessary. As it always is, this was delicious. I served it over wilted spinach, tho’ I would have loved it with some pasta with garlic and olive oil too. (I was disciplined tonight since Hubs is out of town) For those not confident making fish, this is a great choice. For those who ARE confident making fish, this is a great choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
469 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Not bad once you go used to the smooshy texture. After about one filet, was getting tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Great, easy and quick dinner. I loved the combination of lemony flavors in the cracker crust. BUT for my taste, the next time I will use 1/4 sleeve of crackers. The crust was too thick on my cod fish. When I baked it, I sprinkled the scallions over the top of the fish and cooked them as well. Great recipe Pam. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
My 8 yr old and I had fun in the kitchen together with this one. Due to a heart-healthy requirement for our family, we baked the cod in a olive oil sprayed pan. Then after the initial 10 min, we brushed it with the squeezed lemon and 2 T of butter then topped it with chive/garlic pita crackers. Twas DELICIOUS. Served with garlic frozen french beans sauteed with garlic and tomatoes. Also, new potatoes boiled then topped with olive oil and dill. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was really good! My family loved it and we aren't big fish eaters. I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very good and will definitely make again since we always have the ingredients on hand. I even messed up and put the cracker topping on the fish for the whole 20 minutes and it was still good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
The fish does, indeed, come out flaky and good. I saw another rating that used bread crumbs, so I did the same. Also, I substituted olive oil for the butter. The recipe has too many steps. I sprayed the pan, then drizzled with olive oil. Placed cod in pan, drizzled the cod with olive oil, sprinkled the crumbs on top, poured wine around cod, squeezed lemon on top of cod, baked for 15 minutes. Because we did not use the salty crackers, we noticed the fish needed salt. Will add salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
EXCELLENT! Prepared entire dish, then baked about 20-30 min. Added shredded Parmesan and green onion to the cracker mix. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States