Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
You can FIX this recipe by doubleing the rice! Like other's have said, this is waaaay to sweet and vinegary. We like to make rice balls to snack on for lunch as well as stock sushi rice around here. This was just overpowering. Sushi rice should be subtly bittersweet. Not blaring out flavor like McDonald's sweet n sour sauce. The easiest way to fix this recipe is by halving the ingredients, or doubling the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Amazing ratio of ingredients! Fantastic! After one bite, my tongue tingled just like when my friends dared me to drink a bottle of vinegar as a kid. Few recipes invoke such nostalgia! I was really torn between tossing it instantly down the garberator (we call it 'Oscar'), or saving it til I had some baking soda to do one of those cool grade-school science project volcanoes. Eventually decided on the former, and Oscar is now super well-lubed from all the oil! Its been running good as new ever since. All thanks to this wonderful recipe. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Way too sweet! I would reduce the amount of sugar to 1 and 1/2 tablespoons and increase the amount of salt to 1/2 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
best rice for sushi ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I thought this was too sweet & vinegary at first, but once it was in the actual sushi it tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
rice was to sweet next time less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I cooked the rice in a rice cooker and then added the liquid. It worked well; although I'd probably use a tiny bit less of the liquid. We made spicy crab and shrimp rolls, and they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Extremely easy and turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoMaMa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This works for Brown rice as well. My family loved the de-constructed sushi bowls I made with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Great way to make sushi rice! I'm not sure if it made a difference that I just added everything at once, because it came out fantastically. Also, I used unrefined coconut oil instead of veg oil - was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States