Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I'd scale back just a touch on the vinegar, but the recipe amt. didn't alter the speed the sushi was eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmersdaughter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This had too much vinegar for my taste. I ended up adding 5 Tbsp instead of 8 Tbsp and that was more than plenty. There was also too much water in the rice. Next time I will try a 1:1 ratio of rice to water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This is perfect sushi rice. I just watch the vinegar to sugar and add slowly I dont want to over flavor the rice. I make the rice up a day or two ahead of time or keep it on hand and it it's still great. I added sesame seeds to the rice prior to rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary loves Lala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I've been using this recipe a while and have been very happy with the results. Basically, it's easy and holds well. However, this time I was a bit short on rice vinegar and the flavor was even better than usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Perfect sushi rice every time. This recipe has excellent flavor and holds together superbly when building rolls. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Perfect mixture of liquids in terms of taste. However, you will not need to use all of the liquid if you only made 2 cups of rice. I used 3/4 of the liquid and wished I used 1/2 of it. It was a little too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good! I had to add some extra water near the end of the cooking time, as the amount called for in the recipe was basically all absorbed, but the rice was not yet cooked through. Other than that. it was delicious. Sticky and made great sushi rolls. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
A few tips- if you're making a larger batch, omit the vegetable oil, and add some slices of orange and lemon, including the rind, to the vinegar mixture. You'll also want to add a piece of kelp, if you can find it (try an asian grocery store). Let that sit overnight so that the flavors can come out. A good grade of rice is medium grain California extra fancy sushi rice. When you mix the rice and vinegar mixture together, do it in a wooden bowl (unsealed) with a wooden rice paddle or wide spoon- this helps keep the moisture level in the rice perfect. If you're very into making sushi, there are traditional bowls made specifically for this, they look like the bottom part of a wooden barrel and have a metal band going around the side. You'll also want to pour the vinegar mixture over a spoon into the cooked rice so that it's sprinkled evenly, otherwise you'll end up with clumps of plain rice and this can make it difficult to spread the finished rice onto the nori (sushi seaweed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This recipe uses too much vinegar. Once you add the seaweed and dip it in soya sauce, it becomes too salty to taste and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I thought the rice was going to be too sweet but it made our sushi rolls delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States