Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
A few tips- if you're making a larger batch, omit the vegetable oil, and add some slices of orange and lemon, including the rind, to the vinegar mixture. You'll also want to add a piece of kelp, if you can find it (try an asian grocery store). Let that sit overnight so that the flavors can come out. A good grade of rice is medium grain California extra fancy sushi rice. When you mix the rice and vinegar mixture together, do it in a wooden bowl (unsealed) with a wooden rice paddle or wide spoon- this helps keep the moisture level in the rice perfect. If you're very into making sushi, there are traditional bowls made specifically for this, they look like the bottom part of a wooden barrel and have a metal band going around the side. You'll also want to pour the vinegar mixture over a spoon into the cooked rice so that it's sprinkled evenly, otherwise you'll end up with clumps of plain rice and this can make it difficult to spread the finished rice onto the nori (sushi seaweed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This recipe uses too much vinegar. Once you add the seaweed and dip it in soya sauce, it becomes too salty to taste and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I thought the rice was going to be too sweet but it made our sushi rolls delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
A little too sweet for my taste, and I do have a sweet tooth. I just don't like my sushi rice sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Great easy sushi rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
perfect - just like sushi rice should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Too much sugar & vinegar, other recipes call for 2-3 tbsp of the two..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babie88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I have never reviewed a recipe...but must say, this is the best sushi rice I have tried. I only use 1/3 cup rice vinegar, with a pinch of sugar, pinch of salt and TBS of oil. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
i love this recipe! but it's a little sweet for me so i would put half that amount of sugar. if you have more of a sweet tooth then it's fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States