Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Too sweet as is. Very good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This rice is SO sweet and SO SO vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Baker Van Dyke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. Too sweet and too much of a vinegar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Rios-Stroud

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
much too vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Easy, good results, tasty. I used Agave syrup instead of sugar, just a little less than I would the sugar. It was lightly sweet, just tangy enough from the vinegar. I didn't need all 15 servings so first time I cut the recipe to 5, but I think that was too far. Better results with 10 servings this time. Quantities and time were in better harmony. One important tip (via unnecessary trial and error) is to NOT be nervous the rice will stick to the bottom when it gets into the last 5-10 minutes. Keep it on low, keep it covered and wait until the end. The rice dried out enough, steam helped, fluffed (for sushi rice) and was not gummy. And I didn't end up with a ruined pan bottom. First time I added more water and kept cooking it b/c I hadn't kept the lid on and turned it low enough, so the water kept disappearing. Second time's a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Rice turned out perfectly BUT it was way too sweet for me and my husband (and we eat a lot of sushi out). We're going to try again without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by e-giggle
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
The only thing I would amend with this recipe is to add the seasoning to taste. It will be a bit strong when you first add it, then mellow as it soaks in. I also make it in half batches since I'm the only sushi eater in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Yes, it was too much vinegar and sugar, but I adjusted it to my taste without adding all of it. Note: Glutinous white rice is NOT the same as sushi rice. The former is more opaque (almost cream coloured) and longer (or bigger grained) while the latter is more translucent white and shorter (or smaller grained).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by argus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Cham, Zug, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
solid. good sushi rice is the key to a great experience. and this recipe works. recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe is great for making sushi rolls. I have found that home made sushi is typically lousy and have always suspected that it is the rice which is lacking. This rice makes your sushi rolls taste restaurant quality and is absolutely terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe McGonagle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States